Potato and Cheese Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Very good! The potatoes are much better if you use leftover baked from the night before. Also, try beating the egg yolks and whites separately (beating the whites until they form soft peaks)...then mix the two together until combined. The eggs get really fluffy that way (a trick I learned from a chef I used to work with at a fine restaurant). Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I used the Ore Ida frozen hash browns - the cubed kind - and it came out great. It was a big time and mess saver as well. I added an extra egg and mixed in some monteray jack cheese with the cheddar, and it was deliccious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
A good place to start, but very bland as written. I seasoned my eggs with garlic and onion powders, black pepper and Mexican spices. This is a great dish to make when you want to clean out your fridge because almost anything goes. I also threw in broccoli, zucchini, green bell peppers and grape tomatoes. Used pepper jack cheese with this to give it a kick. End result was delicious. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This IS a great recipe. I altered it slightly by using the Ore-Ida hashbrowns (the shredded kind) and sprinkling diced tomatoes and green onions just before adding the cheese and gave it great color. I also used 6 eggs for volume and whisked them separately as in the other review. The result was a thicker and fluffier frittata that made a great main course for breakfast. You could also add sliced black olives and a dollop of sour cream for a lunch or dinner dish. The only thing I would change is reduce the first baking time to 7 minutes and once you put the tomatoes, green onion, and cheese on, the cheese takes longer to get all bubbly, so I had to bake it for another 7-8 minutes in addition to the first 10 and it made the eggs kind of dry. Next time I make it, I will try it with the Ore-Ida cubed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was great. The only changes I made were to add some diced ham before adding the eggs and I used diced potatoes rather than shredded. This is a great basic recipe that would be fun to play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Mine turned out great, because I followed other reviewers and added oregano, thyme, parmesan. I also chopped some bacon and fried it, then fried my finely diced potates in the same pan. Not the healthiest way, but yummy. I only gave 3 stars because this would have been super bland had I not made these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This recipe is so good and so easy! I made it exactly like the recipe but I did increase the eggs by 2....my super finicky 17 year old son went back for seconds! This one is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
yum! did this in a large cast iron skillet to feed my mister & the teenager with what i thought would be leftovers: wrong. scarfed it all! *maybe next time a bit of a skip ahead with pre made hasbrowns...?*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuckerman, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Had a difficult time making this. Potatoes kept sticking to my pot (guess I need a new pot)and so I added extra oil. End result was a big greasy gloppy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. If your potatoes are sticking, please consider the source to be your pan and/or cooking technique as opposed to the recipe. I used a well-seasoned cast iron pan with a bit of butter and grapeseed oil, and had delicious crispy potatoes and well-cooked eggs. Use your own discretion for seasoning: if you like a lot of flavor, add seasonings and salt and hot sauce for a kick...don't blame a simple recipe for not being seasoned enough for your tates...like onion? Add onion, like more cheese, add it...5 stars for simplicity, cost, and ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States