Potato and Cheese Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This IS a great recipe. I altered it slightly by using the Ore-Ida hashbrowns (the shredded kind) and sprinkling diced tomatoes and green onions just before adding the cheese and gave it great color. I also used 6 eggs for volume and whisked them separately as in the other review. The result was a thicker and fluffier frittata that made a great main course for breakfast. You could also add sliced black olives and a dollop of sour cream for a lunch or dinner dish. The only thing I would change is reduce the first baking time to 7 minutes and once you put the tomatoes, green onion, and cheese on, the cheese takes longer to get all bubbly, so I had to bake it for another 7-8 minutes in addition to the first 10 and it made the eggs kind of dry. Next time I make it, I will try it with the Ore-Ida cubed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was very easy and very good. Try adding mushrooms and using shredded taco cheese, it added more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This was the first frittata I have made. It was simple and tasty, although it could use a little kick. Green peppers and more onion perhaps. Also I think next time I will add some seasoning salt to the potatoes while they are frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Pretty good, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very yummy. I added a little garlic for flavor. It was still a little bland. Next time I will use frozen hash browns for convenience and add jalapenos for zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie_ict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Great, easy recipe for a weekend brunch! I added some extra veggies and lots of Cheddar cheese. Dee-lish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was super yummy, and allowed clean up time. I added ham and 2 more eggs. I also used shredded hash browns (mine were frozen in a block which was a pain, but with some patience finally broke up). Next time I will definitely add some more spices to liven up the flavor just a bit OR, will probably use the southwestern style potatoes that are in the refridgerator section at the grocery store. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Yes, a good start, but bland unless you add some more goodies and spices. I added bacon and black olives and would've added more spices, but knew my kids wouldn't like it spiced up. This is a great quick meal that is healthy and a good way to clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe was great! It allowed clean up time which is important to me. With most breakfasts, Im racing around the kitchen creating a greasy mess. I made a couple changes and added some left over kabassa meat. Instead of using baked potatoes, I shreaded some with a grater and fryed them with onion and chive. I also added fresh parsley and it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-LITE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I took advice from a number of reviewers: sliced the potatoes instead of shredded them, added a couple of eggs and seasonings (season salt & garlic powder) and I thought this turned out just dandy. I can't say for sure how long I fried the potatoes, but I think 15 minutes on medium-high is about right. I mixed the cheese in with the beaten eggs and baked at 400 for about 13 minutes. The eggs were set and not too brown. Topped with some chives and this, my first frittata was quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States