Potato and Cheese Filling for Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Simple and perfect. I often boil a clover or two of garlic with my potatoes which gets mashed and mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I used 1/2 sharp cheddar and 1/2 medium cheddar. They were perfect - just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Awesome filling. I wasn't sure how much was 1lb of cheese and 4lbs of potato so I winged it. I added the cheese while the potatoes were still warm until the potatoes seemed sufficiently cheesy, then added in real bacon that I chopped up. I didn't even need salt or pepper. Very tasty filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was very easy and very good. I halved the pierogi recipe but the amounts listed in the recipe for the filling looked to be quite a lot so I adjusted. I ended up using 4 small/medium potatoes to make the mashed potatoes. I threw in a couple cloves of garlic while the potatoes were boiling and mashed them also. I added 8-12 ounces cheddar (we like it cheesy) and 2-3 ounces cream cheese to the mashed potatoes. This ended up being the perfect amount for 36 three inch round pierogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
THIS IS SOO GOOD!!! I used a sour cream, bacon, onion dip and it was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Really good, but I added 1 1/2 of a small box of velveeta cheese...yummmmo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The perfect filling for Pierogi. Very easy to prepare and fill. Tastiest when Pierogi are fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I also added some sauted oninons and minced lean bacon for a wonderful twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Shizzle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very good, I added some sauted onions and bacon to mine. They turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Excellent! Exactly what I was hoping for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States