Potato and Cheese Filling for Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Pretty good, although I like my moms recipe better...Even amounts of cream cheese and mashed potatos (potatos should be a little more dry than creamy to prevent runniness), salt,pepper. Add the cream cheese to potatos to avoid making mixture to thin. When pieogis are prepared, they should be browned over butter and onions for an authentic Polish dish...Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was very easy and very good. I halved the pierogi recipe but the amounts listed in the recipe for the filling looked to be quite a lot so I adjusted. I ended up using 4 small/medium potatoes to make the mashed potatoes. I threw in a couple cloves of garlic while the potatoes were boiling and mashed them also. I added 8-12 ounces cheddar (we like it cheesy) and 2-3 ounces cream cheese to the mashed potatoes. This ended up being the perfect amount for 36 three inch round pierogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This is one of the most refreshing receipes' I have found!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Great filling for my homemade Pierogi filling. My wife could not stop talking about my Pierogis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Good recipe, I added a little green onion to it just to give it that extra "oomph". Good consistency for filling the pierogies, easy to handle and it cooks nicely. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
THIS IS SOO GOOD!!! I used a sour cream, bacon, onion dip and it was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Awesome filling. I wasn't sure how much was 1lb of cheese and 4lbs of potato so I winged it. I added the cheese while the potatoes were still warm until the potatoes seemed sufficiently cheesy, then added in real bacon that I chopped up. I didn't even need salt or pepper. Very tasty filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I used 1/2 sharp cheddar and 1/2 medium cheddar. They were perfect - just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I added sauteed onions, mushrooms and green peppers to the mashed potatoes, and I used Emmenthaler (a Swiss cheese) instead of Cheddar. The result was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Simple and perfect. I often boil a clover or two of garlic with my potatoes which gets mashed and mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States