Potato and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was the best Potato and Cauliflower Cassorole ever! I did add a couple of tweaks - first, I was out of cauliflower so I substituted broccoli. And I only had potato flakes so instead I used some onion. And rather than use a casserole dish I cooked on top of the stove in a fry pan!!! Wait - just kidding, kinda making fun of a couple other reviews of this recipe! I made this exactly as is (except I honestly never actually measure ingredients) and it came out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe, I didn't have heavy cream, so I used milk. Also, I didn't have swiss cheese, so I used 1/2 cup velveta and 1/2 cup romano and it turned out wonderful. Thank you for another way to serve old favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I have to say, my 16 year old was so mad when I told him that it was cauliflower..."MOM, I HATE CAULIFLOWER!" Then he tasted it, (making an ugly face the whole time) and tasted it again, and then again...when it was all said and done, he probably ate at least 1/3 of the casserole...too funny! It was really good. I will make this again and again. Oh yeah, I boiled the potatoes and steamed the cauliflower at the same time (over the potatoes in a basket).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I make this casserole all the time! Although I use milk instead of cream for the bechamel sauce, it tastes truly delicious -a real comfort food! I add a grating of nutmeg and dry bread crumbs on top in addition to the cheese, and pass it under the broiler for a few minutes for a little crispiness... My husband adores it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is one of the best potato casseroles I've tried. I have not changed anything but this weekend when I make it for another potluck, I will add precooked chicken. Thank you so much. I've made this three times in three weeks for different occassions. I get more compliments on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Good base recipe. I also added dry mustard and nutmeg. Substituted milk for the cream and also used 2 cups of sharp cheddar instead of swiss. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
The recipe "as is" is too bland for me. I omitted swiss cheese. I used parmesan in the flour/cream mixture, as well as adding fresh garlic and rosemary. I used cheddar cheese on top. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
My family really loved this recipe. I used frozen cauliflower, three potatoes and fat free half and half to cut down on the fat. Delish and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Good idea...you just need to modify it to your tastes. I doubled the white sauce and added powders and spices for flavor. Always looking for a different way for cauliflower and this was great. As a vegetarian, I appreciate finding simple and tasty combinations on vegetables to make a more filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was wonderful but a little plain. Might add bacon next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States