Potato and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a good basic recipe. It was a fine dish, and I enjoyed it. DH found it bland. It's not something I would serve to guests. I made some modifications based on what I had available, and on the other reviews. I used unpeeled red potatoes, medium cheddar instead of swiss, and had no cream, so I used milk. It didn't suffer at all for the milk. The cheddar flavor was nice, but I felt it still needed something. Next time, I will try this with fresh bacon crumbles and feta mixed in. It was a nice variation on cauliflower, and my daughter ate the cauliflower here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe, I didn't have heavy cream, so I used milk. Also, I didn't have swiss cheese, so I used 1/2 cup velveta and 1/2 cup romano and it turned out wonderful. Thank you for another way to serve old favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My family didn't really care for it and for the many dishes you use in its creation it isn't worth it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was OK. Luckily I tasted the sauce before adding it to the vegetables. It was bland, so I added two tablespoons of dijon mustard which helped. Don't know if I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This was okay. Probably not make it again. My swiss was rather mild. Maybe if my cheese had a stronger flavor I might have enjoyed it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
My family thought it was ok. I used gouda cheese instead of swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunnyzita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, Carabobo, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Easy to make, delicious, my daughter of 17 months loved it, we'll do it again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I used sliced onions instead of potatoes & didn't even pre-cook the cauliflower. Very good, liked crumbs on top, and very versitile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I make this casserole all the time! Although I use milk instead of cream for the bechamel sauce, it tastes truly delicious -a real comfort food! I add a grating of nutmeg and dry bread crumbs on top in addition to the cheese, and pass it under the broiler for a few minutes for a little crispiness... My husband adores it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is one of the best potato casseroles I've tried. I have not changed anything but this weekend when I make it for another potluck, I will add precooked chicken. Thank you so much. I've made this three times in three weeks for different occassions. I get more compliments on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States