Potato and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Did the tweaking recommended by other reviewers and it was very good. Served with a salad and Morrisette Cabernet Franc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Great recipe. Our whole family loves it. My 3 year old can't get enough of it and it's a great dish for my 1 year old too! I'm about to make it for my mother right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this dish to accompany the Carmelized Chicken recipie. Read all the reviews prior to starting, and decided that I needed to add a little onion, garlic, and parm cheese. While the dish looked beautiful, I agree with one of the reviewers that it is not seasoned enough. Taste is just okay. Great if you need a starch fix, but lacks the wow factor. It needs something, but I'm just not sure what. It was very easy to make, so I would love to find that much needed ingredient. BF suggested bacon, but I would love to keep it a vegetarian-friendly dish, as my son does not eat pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
The combination of potato and cauliflower is good for both vegetables. Cauliflower is not my favorite veg, and I am always looking for an interesting way to serve it. I have fixed this recipe a number of times now, and adjust it to what I have on hand. I generally have about equal amounts of potato and cauliflower, and I use milk to make the white sauce rather than cream. I think the cheese adds enough richness to the sauce, and the cream just adds extra calories. I live in Japan, and Swiss cheese is just too expensive to use for this type of recipe, so I use the more affordable cheddar. This side dish is quite rich, so I generally serve with a main dish that is not overly sauced - grilled meat or fish - and a green salad. I am also careful not to make too much - the leftovers tend to hang around too long. Thank you very much for a great way to fix cauliflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHUXTABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I used what I had in the house, cheddar cheese. Cheddar was good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was so delicious and filling. I substituted milk for the heavy cream and added seasonings (rosemary, garlic, and parsley). Broiled with a bit of breadcrumbs at the end. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bequita84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was really good. I ended up adding more cream and some milk because the sauce was too thick. Definetly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atm3294

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was great. I used frozen cauliflower and red skin potatoes. Simplified everything. Just fixed the sauce in my cast iron, added the veggies and cheese and baked for 30 min. The whole family enjoyed it. I plan to use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I wanted to make a "au gratin" verus casserole so I thinly sliced my potatoes and boiled them with the cauliflower for 5 minutes. I used half and half+milk, but ended up needing 1/2 c more milk b/c the cheese makes it *too thick*. Recommend: 2 T butter/flour, milk and not cream, sprinkle 1/2 of the cheese over potatoes/cauliflower and then pour white sauce over all. Top with remaining cheese, bread crumbs, and drizzle olive oil over all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThnkThn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I have to say, my 16 year old was so mad when I told him that it was cauliflower..."MOM, I HATE CAULIFLOWER!" Then he tasted it, (making an ugly face the whole time) and tasted it again, and then again...when it was all said and done, he probably ate at least 1/3 of the casserole...too funny! It was really good. I will make this again and again. Oh yeah, I boiled the potatoes and steamed the cauliflower at the same time (over the potatoes in a basket).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States