Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was ok. I did boil the potatoes for 15 minutes. With the left overs I made potato, cheese and broccoli soup by adding chicken broth to thick or thinness, half and half creamer, salt and pepper to taste. This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I wish I would have read the reviews on this before cooking! Yes, you certainly are right about those potatoes not cooking at this temperature. I would love to think of the right temperature to cook them fully while not over-cooking the broccoli. For what it is worth, I cooked this for two hours at 325, then 15 minutes at 425 and it was still out of this world as far as flavor goes. I used mozerella cheese, FYI, and it is delicious; though I can see why cheddar would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This recipe was all right, definitely one of the better broccoli casseroles I've made. Following the suggestions of one of the other raters, I boiled the potatoes for about 10 minutes, throwing the broccoli in for the last 2 minutes or so. I then included 2 cloves of garlic and one small onion in the sauce and then used a full box of Stove Top stuffing mixed with 1/4 cup melted cube butter for the topping instead of the saltines. I also then substituted a can of cream of mushroom soup for the sour cream since I'm not a big fan. Next time, I would avoid using the cream of broccoli altogether, using just cream of mushroom, and would instead just double the amount of fresh broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
READ THIS FIRST: Okay, first of all, has the owner of this recipe not realized that they left out a VERY important step? I put this together and then cooked it for an hour and then realized it wasn't cooked at all. Then looked a the reviews and realized I was supposed to cook the potatoes first. According to the other FIFTY reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
My boyfriend loves this recipe! I substitute with cream of mushroom soup and instead of crackers, I top with the French's Fried Onions. Cooking the potatoes first is a must as others have stated. This is a yummy cold-weather splurge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelodyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Loomis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Completely boiling the potatoes ahead of time is a MUST. Other than that, this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Excellent with a few changes, I used cream of chicken soup and added chopped chicken to make it a whole meal. I also added chopped onions and some garlic for flavor. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Good recipe. We really liked the mixture of the potato and broccoli. After reading other reviews, I sliced the potatoes rather than cutting in cubes. The cook time was right on. I really appreciated the calcuate button for this recipe as it made a lot. Two friends stopped over while I was putting this together and both wanted the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was a good recipe! A really nice warm recipe for winter. The sauce sort of makes a gravy. I used 1 can broccoli and one can cream of celery soup because that's what I had on hand. I also substituted plain yogurt for the sour cream and used multigrain saltines. Very pleasing dish. Nothing bad to say about it, just a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
i just made this tonight very good my husband and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyspelts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States