Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
So yummy! I read the reviews before I made this and I followed some suggestions. Instead of two cans of broccoli soup I added one can of mushroom and one can of broccoli cheese soup. I also added onions which made it so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was ok. I did boil the potatoes for 15 minutes. With the left overs I made potato, cheese and broccoli soup by adding chicken broth to thick or thinness, half and half creamer, salt and pepper to taste. This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Letty Trevino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I wish I would have read the reviews on this before cooking! Yes, you certainly are right about those potatoes not cooking at this temperature. I would love to think of the right temperature to cook them fully while not over-cooking the broccoli. For what it is worth, I cooked this for two hours at 325, then 15 minutes at 425 and it was still out of this world as far as flavor goes. I used mozerella cheese, FYI, and it is delicious; though I can see why cheddar would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This recipe was all right, definitely one of the better broccoli casseroles I've made. Following the suggestions of one of the other raters, I boiled the potatoes for about 10 minutes, throwing the broccoli in for the last 2 minutes or so. I then included 2 cloves of garlic and one small onion in the sauce and then used a full box of Stove Top stuffing mixed with 1/4 cup melted cube butter for the topping instead of the saltines. I also then substituted a can of cream of mushroom soup for the sour cream since I'm not a big fan. Next time, I would avoid using the cream of broccoli altogether, using just cream of mushroom, and would instead just double the amount of fresh broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
READ THIS FIRST: Okay, first of all, has the owner of this recipe not realized that they left out a VERY important step? I put this together and then cooked it for an hour and then realized it wasn't cooked at all. Then looked a the reviews and realized I was supposed to cook the potatoes first. According to the other FIFTY reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
My boyfriend loves this recipe! I substitute with cream of mushroom soup and instead of crackers, I top with the French's Fried Onions. Cooking the potatoes first is a must as others have stated. This is a yummy cold-weather splurge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelodyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Loomis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Completely boiling the potatoes ahead of time is a MUST. Other than that, this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Excellent with a few changes, I used cream of chicken soup and added chopped chicken to make it a whole meal. I also added chopped onions and some garlic for flavor. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Good recipe. We really liked the mixture of the potato and broccoli. After reading other reviews, I sliced the potatoes rather than cutting in cubes. The cook time was right on. I really appreciated the calcuate button for this recipe as it made a lot. Two friends stopped over while I was putting this together and both wanted the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was a good recipe! A really nice warm recipe for winter. The sauce sort of makes a gravy. I used 1 can broccoli and one can cream of celery soup because that's what I had on hand. I also substituted plain yogurt for the sour cream and used multigrain saltines. Very pleasing dish. Nothing bad to say about it, just a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States