Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This is my 2nd time making this and I finally decided to rate it. The one thing everyone must do that is not included in the recipe is to fully cook the potatoes before baking them in the casserole. The 1st time I did not even cook them at all and the 2nd almost halfway and I still had raw potatoes. I microwaved them the rest of the way to save time. If cooked properly this recipe has a full rich flavor and is very filling as a main vegetarian dish. I am going to make for the third time with fully cooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I give it 5 stars with the right modifications. Boiling the potatoes for a few minutes is a must. I used one can cream of broccoli and one can cream of mushroom. I also added 2 cloves minced garlic and 1 small chopped onion. Instead of saltine crackers, I mixed half a box of Stove Top stuffing with some melted butter and used that for the crunchy topping. The final, modified result was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This was good but it actually took over two hours to bake. Next I make this, I will boil the potatoes slightly first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I've made this recipe twice and really enjoy it. No, it's not gourmet fare, but not everything has to be. I've found that this works best for me: Peel 3 pounds potatoes and cut into 1 1/2 inch cubes. Boil for 8 minutes and then add a whole bag of frozen broccoli. Cook for a minute or so until the broccoli has thawed. Drain and return to the pot. In a bowl, stir together 1 can condensed cheddar cheese soup, 1 can cream of broccoli cheese soup, 1 C light or fat free sour cream, 1 t mustard, 1 t garlic powder, and salt and pepper to taste. Carefully stir the soup mixture into the potatoes and broccoli, making sure not to turn it into mashed potatoes! Spoon into a greased baking dish and bake at 325 for 20-30 minutes. I skip the cheddar cheese since the sauce already has cheese and we don't care for cracker crumbs so I leave them out. Hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I, too, cooked the broccoli and potatoes first, and used cream of mushroom soup instead of cr. of broccoli. I substituted non-fat sour cream,which worked fine. I also used Monterey Jack cheese along with the cheddar. This was a delicious meal which I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This recipe is very tasty but the potatoes must be baked before you put them in the casserole or they will still be raw after the 45 minutes of baking. I also suggest putting the temperature up to 350-375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I didn't read the reviews first. I should have. It cooked for over an hour and was still just not quite done. I personally didn't care for it. Too starchy, but the family came back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Not my favourite recipe, a little to thick and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
The end result was pretty good, but it did take almost 2 hours to cook and I even cut the potatoes small. Maybe precook (boil) the potatoes for at least 10 minutes first? That's what I will do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Really good recipe with a few additions/changes. As others have said... boiling the potatoes fully is a requirement. I simultaneously steamed the broccoli until crisp tender. Additionally, instead of saltines, I toasted some farmstyle bread slices VERY lightly, ripped them into crude croutons, melted two sticks of butter, and lightly drizzled this over the croutons. Also, as someone else suggested, I used one can cream of mushroom and one can cream of broccoli, as well as a small diced onion and two crushed cloves of garlic. The end result was great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States