Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I give it 5 stars with the right modifications. Boiling the potatoes for a few minutes is a must. I used one can cream of broccoli and one can cream of mushroom. I also added 2 cloves minced garlic and 1 small chopped onion. Instead of saltine crackers, I mixed half a box of Stove Top stuffing with some melted butter and used that for the crunchy topping. The final, modified result was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I wish I would of read the reviews before cooking. I didn't cook the potatoes first and it took about an hour and 45 mins to finish. Next time I'll cook the potatoes first and add more broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I found out the hard way that you must cook the potatoes first before putting in the casserole. I cooked mine an extra 30 minutes and some of the potatoes were still not done. However, the overall taste of the casserole was great! I plan to make it again but first cook the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Very Good! I also cooked the potatoes & broccoli first. I didn't have any sour cream, so I substituted mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This was pretty good. I agree with some other reviewers that the broccoli is almost too overwhelming. I would find the smallest head of broccoli possible for this recipe. Mine took about an hour to cook at 5,500 feet altitude. I nuked the potatoes for 6 minutes per side before putting them in the casserole and I didn't pre-cook the broccoli at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This was really good. I only used 3 potatoes and only 1 can cream of mushroom soup. I pre-cooked the potatoes & broccoli and still cooked for about 50 minutes. I served with meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This recipe is very tasty but the potatoes must be baked before you put them in the casserole or they will still be raw after the 45 minutes of baking. I also suggest putting the temperature up to 350-375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I boiled my potatoes first just enough to soften them up. I did not steam the broccoli as others who wrote reviews did, but I poured the boiling water from the potatoes over the broccoli and it worked just as well with less effort. Not having any saltines on hand,I used herbed stuffing mix to top, this was not bad but I think I will use french fried onions next time. Over all this was an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I used 2% chedder cheese and fat free sour cream to cut the fat and it was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was really good. I just tweaked a few things. First of all, I did boil the potatoes and broccoli (until done) before mixing everything together. I only added one can of broccoli soup, so when it was all done the sour cream and cheese flavors were stronger. The only thing I would change next time is to add onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States