Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very good recipe. I followed the suggestions of many others in that I pre-cooked the potatoes and frozen broccoli I used. I topped this with a breadcrumb and cheese mixture verses salted crackers. It cooked in 45 minutes and was very good. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
its ok but probably wont make it again. i didnt think it was super exiting. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I didn't read the reviews first. I should have. It cooked for over an hour and was still just not quite done. I personally didn't care for it. Too starchy, but the family came back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Made this for dinner lastnight. Did as suggested by others and cooked the potatoes first. I also used cream of mushroom soup sense I did not have any cream of broccoli on hand. I topped it with crushed ritzs crackers instead of the saltines and little dabs of butter, baked it at 375 for one hour. Served with a tossed green salad and crescent rolls. Everyone enjoyed it except for the 9 year old who doesn't care for broccoli. When asked t rate it my eldest gave it a 4 and my husband started with a 3 star but changed his mind and gave it a 4 in the end. Will make again and will think of other things to add to dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Followed some of the recommended modifications by cooking potatoes a little before hand and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Yum Yum! This was delicious! I did take a few suggestions and altered it a little. I cooked the potatoes first, which made my casserole cook faster, in about 35 minutes. I also added some garlic, onions, and used one can of cheddar cheese soup. It was super cheesy, and I wish it would have been a little less soupy. But I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The flavor is a tad bland to me, but a nice enough side dish. I would not personally choose to serve as a vegetarian main dish as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great tasting and texture everyone loved it will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I followed everyone's advice, and boiled these potatoes until almost cooked before baking the casserole. It took about 45 minutes to get bubbly after that. I wasn't sure what size to cut the potatoes, but if I make this again I will cut them into small cubes, instead of large ones like I did. I also used stuffing mix as the crumb topping and that was tasty! Overall, not a very exciting recipe, but it tasted good, and my vegetarian mom enjoyed it as her entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcarolinecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Really good recipe with a few additions/changes. As others have said... boiling the potatoes fully is a requirement. I simultaneously steamed the broccoli until crisp tender. Additionally, instead of saltines, I toasted some farmstyle bread slices VERY lightly, ripped them into crude croutons, melted two sticks of butter, and lightly drizzled this over the croutons. Also, as someone else suggested, I used one can cream of mushroom and one can cream of broccoli, as well as a small diced onion and two crushed cloves of garlic. The end result was great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States