Potato and Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Another TERRIFIC enchilada recipe that I've found from this site! I've made this twice; the first time, I really wanted to try this, was short on time, and didn't have tomatillos (or the time to get some) so replaced the tomatillo sauce with canned green chile enchilada sauce. The second time, I made the recipe as written. Both ways are VERY good - I just found the original to be a *little* bland so will probably spice it up with jalepenos next time. Otherwise, this is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Just moved to Vermont from Texas and these were just what I was looking for: not too hard to put together, vegetarian, very good. I up-ed the spice a bit with some chile pequin flakes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbelum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
These enchiladas were awesome!! We ate them with sour cream and salsa. My whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYPHAT55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
These enchiladas are AWESOME! One caveat: Do NOT put the hot tomatillo/onion/cooking water mix into a blender! It will explode -- seriously! I substituted red jalapeno salsa for the ketchup and a combination of plain, soft goat cheese and shredded cheddar for the queso fresco. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I loved this and so did my family. I substituted green taco sauce for the tomatillo sauce, but it was great. goes great with bean salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
These are fantastic. Much easier also if you use a "salsa verde" in place of the whole tomatillo/blender thing. I also made them with Monterey Jack once instead of queso fresco, and that was good too. I usually end up putting a red enchilada sauce (or tortilla chowder from trader joe's) on top, so they are a bit saucier. Without it they seem a bit dry, but overall they are great, and even my 3 young kids like them. Not as time consuming as they might seem, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
These were excellent. I am vegetarian, and my husband is Mexican -- and we both loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Awesome enchiladas. We really loved these and want to try making them sometime and add some shredded chicken. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
YUM! I am a vegetarian and really have enjoyed these enchiladas. Even as leftovers they are fantastic. I did make some changes- I realized I was out of cumin while preparing these so I used taco seasoning and chili powder on the potatoes. I used canned tomatillos and dried onion flakes in the blender as the sauce and didn't like the taste so I added my favorite salsa. I messed up on filling and put all the cheese in the enchiladas and none on top. I will make this recipe again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States