Potato and Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
These are fantastic. Much easier also if you use a "salsa verde" in place of the whole tomatillo/blender thing. I also made them with Monterey Jack once instead of queso fresco, and that was good too. I usually end up putting a red enchilada sauce (or tortilla chowder from trader joe's) on top, so they are a bit saucier. Without it they seem a bit dry, but overall they are great, and even my 3 young kids like them. Not as time consuming as they might seem, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
If anyone is looking for a variation to this recipe; I didn't have time to soften the tortillas in oil so instead I lined the 9x13 pan with the corn tortillas then I spread the bean/potato mixture on top of that and then I layed down another layer of corn tortillas. I poured on the green sauce (which is delicious!) and then I crumbled the queso fresco on top of that. ¡Muy fácil! My husband loved this recipe and next time I'm going to add some ground turkey....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHNORMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Good flavor, but would not make again as per recipe. If I make it again, I would definitely add sauce to the potato/bean mixture because the insides were dry. And I would also change the cheese to a cheddar/jack combo or mexican four cheese blend, or something. The queso fresco didn't have a good melting quality to it. But I liked the flavors, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
I substituted sweet potatoes for the white potatoes, and it turned out absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Another TERRIFIC enchilada recipe that I've found from this site! I've made this twice; the first time, I really wanted to try this, was short on time, and didn't have tomatillos (or the time to get some) so replaced the tomatillo sauce with canned green chile enchilada sauce. The second time, I made the recipe as written. Both ways are VERY good - I just found the original to be a *little* bland so will probably spice it up with jalepenos next time. Otherwise, this is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I loved this recipe! We followed it almost exactly. Even my husband, who is a big meat eater thought it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
These enchiladas are AWESOME! One caveat: Do NOT put the hot tomatillo/onion/cooking water mix into a blender! It will explode -- seriously! I substituted red jalapeno salsa for the ketchup and a combination of plain, soft goat cheese and shredded cheddar for the queso fresco. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This truly was delicious. I made many modifications, however. I made my salsa with 4 tomatoes (the grocery store didn't have tomatillos this week - hey, it's Canada!), 1 medium onion, 1 jalapeno pepper and 1/2 an avocado (delish!). Drain ALL the water before blending, otherwise it'll turn out too runny. I also added more cumin and chili pepper to the potatoes (I'm a big fan of cumin). Instead of adding the potato mixture to an oiled pan, I mixed the oil directly with the potatoes. I couldn't find corn tortillas, so I used the flour variety instead. I had many compliments! But wathc out for the jalapeno pepper. Instead of blending directly into the tomato mixture, blend it on its own and add slowly until obtaining the spice level you desire. Muy bien!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
i'm a vegetarian, but i'm also lactose-intolerant (lots of interesting things happen to you after you have a baby, consider yourself warned ;) ), so i made these without the queso. i know, however, that it would have made a big difference with it added, to balance the other flavors and add some creaminess. next time i might add some dairy-free sour cream, for texture if not for flavor. even without queso, these were really good. i had to cook the potatoes longer than 25 mins, but didn't dare cook the enchiladas longer than the 20 suggested. i'd add in some garlic with the potatoes next time, and probably a jalepeno or two. overall a good recipe, one i'm sure i'll make again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made these for the vegan crowd at a dinner I catered, and they seemed to really enjoy them. (left out the cheese this time) I was not impressed with the tomatillo sauce while I was making these - it seemed rather sour. Of course, I put way too much of it in the food processor at once and ended up with a tomatillo-covered kitchen. Yuck! I also was trying to be more healthy and did not fry my tortillas - big mistake. I think it was just the brand of tortillas I bought, because I have had success not frying tortillas before. But with these I ended up with all broken enchiladas. :( But they just end up being chopped up when you eat them anyway, and the vegans really did enjoy them. I think I might give them a shot at home one of these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States