Potato and Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Very yummy and filling, thou you can have these ("a sufficiency", my Nana used to say) and not be left with that awful "stuffed-full" feeling. I like the tomatillos - I haven't ever tried them before but now our market carries them so I thought: "worth a try" and I'm glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
turned out great!! we opted out of the cilantro and didn't find the specified cheese (which i think would have made it better). definitely something i will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
A great-tasting, unique vegetarian recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed this. However, we both agreed that next time I should make double the tomatillo sauce, and spread a little in the baking dish before I put the enchiladas in. Other than that, I will not change a thing next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittLttl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Followed exactly as recipe suggests. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
A little time consuming but really good outcome! I didn't have queso fresco so i used pepper jack instead, and it added a nice heat to it. We will probably make it again when we have time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia693

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
We took the barebones of this recipe and changed it to make it a much quicker, easier recipe to make. For the potatoes I used a bag of homefries from the frozen foods areas and cooked those up. Black instead of pinto beans (preference), and canned enchilada sauce. I thought the combination was very tasty but recommend for those getting canned enchilada sauce to get 2 cans, one was not quite enough. I will try different varations of this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was delicious! I didn't use the tomatillos. I used a can of enchilada sauce mixed with chopped grren chilies. I also used some Tony Chacheres seasoning. I will definitly make again and again.PS-I also used sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I wish I would have made more sauce..yum! I ate almost all the ingredients before mixing...potatoes, cheese, beans, mmmmmm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made this for an office potluck where we have many vegetarians. Veg's and meat eaters alike loved it. However, I used just the filling ideas, mixed cheddar and monterrey jack, added some frozen corn maybe 1/2 cup, for color & protein, skipped making the tomatillo sauce (which I make religiously when my garden is great for any green salsa recipe) used canned green salsa and enchilada sauce mixed, gave texture and flavor, and made as a casserole. Slice the tortillas into 1 inch or so pieces. Pour a bit of the sauce on the bottom of the caserole dish. Layer like a lasagna - One bottom layer of tortilla, top with potato and bean mix, a little sauce, then another layer of tortilla slices. and more sauce. Cheese as needed. and sauce as needed. and tortillas as needed. Tortillas, cheese and chile sauce, just those 3 ingredients, in any combination, and you can't go wrong!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
If anyone is looking for a variation to this recipe; I didn't have time to soften the tortillas in oil so instead I lined the 9x13 pan with the corn tortillas then I spread the bean/potato mixture on top of that and then I layed down another layer of corn tortillas. I poured on the green sauce (which is delicious!) and then I crumbled the queso fresco on top of that. ¡Muy fácil! My husband loved this recipe and next time I'm going to add some ground turkey....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHNORMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States