Potato and Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a good starter recipe. Needs more spice though and is a bit labor intensive, but it's worth it. Easily makes 2 9x13 pans full of enchiladas which are very filling. Next time I may add green chili to the sauce or jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is now one of my husband's favorites. Few small alterations: -We add some chilis/chili powder and garlic to the sauce. -We don't fry the tortillas. -We use black beans instead of pinto. Just a personal preference. -We use lots of jack cheese in addition to/instead of the queso fresco. We like cheesey enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I adore this recipe. I have made this more times than I can count! I remember making this for my mother -- when I told her what was in them, she thought they sounded disgusting. But after she tried them, she asked for the recipe, and it remains one of her (and my) favorite dishes to this day. It's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These were okay, not amazing. A little bit dry, so I think I would use more sauce and more cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is amazingly good. I subbed salsa verde for the tomatillos, and added a little extra sauce, per some of the reviews. Also, I sauteed a couple jalapenos, the onions, 4 sliced mushrooms and two garlic cloves, then added this to the potato mixture before baking it. Made this casserole style and topped w/ a mix of cheddar and jalapeno pepper jack, and sliced olives. Great way to use up extra homemade refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Flavor was bland overall. Potatoes needed more seasoning. Cheese was totally bland. Sauce was watery - please give us a clue as to how much water to use! Very starchy. Not sure how this got so many stars. Based on reviews, it needs a lot of modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I think this is one of the best vegetarian recipes I have made from this site. Even my non-vegetarian husband went back for seconds. I used black beans instead of pinto and layered it like a casserole since I hate rolling them. Since I did it as a casserole, I also cut the # of tortillas and the sauce in half. They were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
These were so good! I was a little skeptical. We are not vegetarians, but trying some meatless meals for hubby's cholesterol. These were loved by everyone, even my little kids. The only thing I would change is to cook the potatoes a little longer. Also, I just layered tortillas on the bottom of the pan, added mixture, layered more tortillas on top, then added the sauce and cheese. It was easy this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Not bad. This is more of a note to myself, but don't use more pinto beans than called for. I only had a larger can and I didn't want to waste them and I knew I wouldn't eat them before they went bad, so I threw the entire can in. Too much, for sure. They made the rest of the recipe too bland. I used two small cans of salsa verde and a little extra medium red salsa. I think the extra salsa was imperative. If I hadn't had the extra beans, I'd give it a good solid 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States