Potato and Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very good. My family absolutely loved it and I've been reusing the Salsa Verde recipe and branching out to make some great green salsa! I felt like the mixture was a little dry though so next time I may put some salsa or something inside of the burritos. I will also start using some green chilies in my salsa and add some spicier spices to the mixture to give it a little more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Best recipe I have ever gotten from allrecipes. I used shredded mexican style cheese and make sure to drain the tomatillos and onions. I added jalepenos then salsa when it was done. OMG it was amazing. Literally, the best meal of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
potato needs a little longer cook time. I did the casserole version (lay tortillas flat instead of messing with them breaking) and used verde enchilada sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
made this tonight. Wanted to follow the recipe, but decided to use a can ofLas Palmas green enchilada sauce instead of cooking the tomatillos. Also, added some packaged mexican cheese blend along with the fresh queso. It came out awesome and has earned a place in my kitchen as a regular weekly meal option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Loved it. Added green chilies, onion, and garlic to the fillling. Substitute feta for the queso fresco but next time I think I'll try goat cheese. I thought the flavors were fabulous. Very flavorful, though not spicy hot. Not sure what people who found it bland did?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Good flavors and a nice vegetarian version of enchiladas. I'll definitely use flour tortillas (and call them enchilada style burritos), and add more beans the next time. Make sure the potatoes are nice and soft before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I LOVED this vegetarian low fat recipe! I made a lot of modifications to suit my taste: used sweet potatoes instead of white, added garlic powder and oregano to spices and 1/4 cup tomato sauce instead of ketchup. Mashed the potatoes and added a bit of ricotta and tomato sauce to moisten. Folded in the beans. Softened the tortillas in warm tomato sauce instead of oil (this works identically and cuts fat). Also added fresh garlic, white wine, and green chiles to tomatillo salsa. Mont jack cheese instead of fresca. I know I seemed to have changed it a lot, but was soooo yummy - GREAT basic recipe. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Euless, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very good recipe!! I made it as directed and found it a little bland for my tastes, but still very good. Directions are a little vague on draining tomatillo water or not. I left the water in and it worked well. The sauce seemed very runny at first but I think the moisture kept the enchiladas from getting too dry during baking. I will probably drain off a small amount of the water next time. Very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My hubby LOVED these! He was hesitant to try them and was kind of grumbling that he wasn't getting any meat for dinner, but the moment he took a bite he raved about them! Instead of using the salsa verde from this recipe, I used the Three Chile Dry Roasted Salsa recipe from this site (just experimenting). For me, BIG mistake...for hubby, he LOVED. Turned out way too spicy for me, so next time I'm going to use the salsa verde on this recipe so that I can eat dinner too...LOL! I will definitely be trying this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was EXTREMELY good!!!!! My whole family loved it. I used a can of Salsa Verde instead of making my own and it worked perfectly. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States