Potato and Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipe, as written is fairly average... however, with some upgrades, it turns into a 4-5 star recipe. Will post my version asap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraLovesBacon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Delicious! Used jared salsa verde and monterry jack. Very filling! Couldn't even tell there wasn't meat in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These were wonderful. I multiplied this recipe multiple times over to uses 5 lbs of potatoes and I gave many trays away to friends and family. These can be a bit dry, so I would make extra tomatillo sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
A great dish that is easily customizable for your tastes. Try adding some Coby Jack to the filling and garnish for a more cheesy option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I'm transitioning into a veggie and this was my first attempt at a vegitarian dish and it was GREAT. I saw some reviews that said the potato mixture was bland so I grab some enchilada sauce. Next time I won't add so much sauce or fry my tortillas because they broke apart as we were eating :( I also took another reviewers advice and used salsa verde. I'm a full time college student and work full time and any time I can save is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
It was very delicious! It does take a bit of time, using the written recipe without taking shortcuts. I did not find it to be too dry like previous write-ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
The first review I've written - these enchiladas are delicious! Pros: Flavorful, filling, easy, makes a ton Cons: Prep time is long, but I mean, it's enchiladas, what do you expect? I used flour tortillas because I like them better - made about 16 enchiladas, and had to use an 8x8 in addition to the 9x13. I added a serrano pepper to the tomatillo salsa to kick things up a notch - delicious. You could use less queso fresco and still enjoy the enchiladas. A great vegetarian dinner that will please even the meat-eaters at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Made this last night, but I improvised a bit. Instead of just a can of Pinto beans, I used 2 cans of chili beans, which has Pintos in it. Also doubled the chili powder. Next time, I will use perhaps 1/2 the amount of Cilantro. My vegetarian daughter loved it, which says a lot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made these after getting tomatillos and potatoes in our farm share. Cooking and blending the tomatillos was easy. I had a less than a pound of tomatillos and it was a little on the drier side but I am sure a full pound would have been plenty to make enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Pretty good, but could use a bit more of a kick. Made it as a casserole (layered tortillas and potato/bean filling). I also added 2 aruba peppers to the tomatillo sauce, and blended it using my stick blender (best appliance ever!). Could use extra cheese. Also might try adding some jalapeno to the sauce to make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States