Potato and Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Took a while to prepare, but well worth it. Next time I will add more chili powder or some tabasco. Not spicy enough for my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by radavis5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This one was a big hit for us! My finacee is not too happy about eating less meat but he really liked this one. The only thing I changed was I used flour tortillas and I used a can of tomatillos instead of the fresh. I poured the entire can (with water/juice) into a sauce pan with the onion, etc. No extra water is needed. I also added quite a bit of cilantro to the sauce and it gave it a lovely flavor. Also it really is easier to make than you would think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I roasted my potatoes for at least 30 min, and they were still a little crunchy, even after the addition 20 min baking time for the whole casserole. I diced them pretty small, so I was surprised they didn't cook down, but I was in a rush and didn't have time to cook them longer. Oh well, next time. I also couldn't find queso fresco, which I really like, so I used the last of a bag of Mexican blend and some cheddar. I also just bought a jar of green salsa instead of the tomatillos, and next time I would either add even more, or buy some green enchilada sauce. All in all, these were really good with a dollop of sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The flavors were a nice combination, but the filling was dry. Next time I will add some sour cream or cream cheese to the filling. I will also use Monterrey Jack cheese - the flavor of the queso wasn't strong enough to support the other flavors. Overall, it was a good recipe that our veggie family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
delicious and quite filling! I added some enchilada sauce to the potato and bean mix. Also, i substituted mexican mix cheese for the queso fresco. Also, there were no tomatillo at my local store, so used salsa verde as suggested by others. Fantastico !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A little dry, will need to add more enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I ended going the easy route and using salsa verde from the store and enjoying it nonetheless. I also opted for black beans and lighter cheese. Have to say it was one of the most filling meals I have made in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made a simplified version of this for our Christmas Eve dinner and it was delicious. I made the sauce the same(but added salt) but then used just beans and queso fresco in the enchiladas--it was a hit and I will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Wow! This is another great vegetarian recipe from this site to add to my rotation! I followed the recipe exactly, except to substitute red enchilada sauce for ketchup (and added some extra to keep the inside moist), and I used shredded monterey jack cheese, since I didn't have any queso fresco. Delicious flavor!! Very time consuming though, but it was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Thought it was delicious! YUM. I used green enchilada sauce instead of the whole make your own thing. Only other change was that i used white tortillas and added a little garlic powder to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States