Potato and Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was so good. I didnt have the right cheese, so i used the italian blend that i had and no tomatillo salsa. I did have green enchilada sauce, I used that and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
The tomatillo enchilada sauce needed a lot of additional seasoning (primarily salt) but other than that... it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
YUMMY! I incorporated ideas from several other reviews. I added a can of red enchilada sauce to the filling, used a jar of salsa verde instead of making my own, and made it into a casserole when I was having trouble rolling the enchiladas. It turned out magnificently and I will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this with sweet potatoes and added low-fat carnitas from a recipe on another site. Sooooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
A yummy, filling vegetarian recipe. I did find it to be a bit bland and a bit dry as written, so I put some of the tomatillo sauce inside with the potato/bean mix as other reviewers suggested, and I added about 1/2 jalapeno, diced. These enchiladas were enjoyed by all, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Read through the reviews first and made this as a casserole: tortillas, then beans/potatoes, then another layer of tortillas. Combined beans, potatoes, 1/2 of cheese and pre-made salse verde (didn't measure, just eyed) and poured this on top of first tortilla layer--the filling was moist this way. Crumbled the rest of the cheese on top of the second tortilla layer and covered with more salsa--again, just eyed it. This is better the second day, but a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe! I love the flavors. I did make a few changes to the recipe, but I think even without them it would have been great. I used Yukon Gold potatoes and diced them finely, and they were not crunchy when they came out of the oven. The changes I made were to use 3 tbsp. of salsa in the potatoes instead of 1 tbsp. of ketchup, and to add some cayenne pepper to make them spicier. I also added a spoonful of sour cream to the potato and bean mixture to help it stick together better, and I used a cheddar/monterey jack blend instead of the queso. Finally, I just used the red enchilada sauce you get in a can instead of making the tomatillo sauce -- I took the path of least resistance, but they still came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
YUMMY!!! I added some left over rice and a few chopped carrots and almonds for crunch, and doubled the amount of cheese (we're still adjusting to a vegetarian lifestyle...). Super good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. I used macayos green enchilada sauce, which is by far the best green enchilada sauce I have ever had, in place of the tomatillo sauce. I also layered them like lasagna, which was just easier for me. Great flavor and super cheap to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I added some salsa verde to the potato/bean mixture to combat the dryness everyone mentioned, as well as adding some jalapenos and chili sauce. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States