Potato and Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was so good. I didnt have the right cheese, so i used the italian blend that i had and no tomatillo salsa. I did have green enchilada sauce, I used that and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
The tomatillo enchilada sauce needed a lot of additional seasoning (primarily salt) but other than that... it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
YUMMY! I incorporated ideas from several other reviews. I added a can of red enchilada sauce to the filling, used a jar of salsa verde instead of making my own, and made it into a casserole when I was having trouble rolling the enchiladas. It turned out magnificently and I will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this with sweet potatoes and added low-fat carnitas from a recipe on another site. Sooooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
A yummy, filling vegetarian recipe. I did find it to be a bit bland and a bit dry as written, so I put some of the tomatillo sauce inside with the potato/bean mix as other reviewers suggested, and I added about 1/2 jalapeno, diced. These enchiladas were enjoyed by all, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Read through the reviews first and made this as a casserole: tortillas, then beans/potatoes, then another layer of tortillas. Combined beans, potatoes, 1/2 of cheese and pre-made salse verde (didn't measure, just eyed) and poured this on top of first tortilla layer--the filling was moist this way. Crumbled the rest of the cheese on top of the second tortilla layer and covered with more salsa--again, just eyed it. This is better the second day, but a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe! I love the flavors. I did make a few changes to the recipe, but I think even without them it would have been great. I used Yukon Gold potatoes and diced them finely, and they were not crunchy when they came out of the oven. The changes I made were to use 3 tbsp. of salsa in the potatoes instead of 1 tbsp. of ketchup, and to add some cayenne pepper to make them spicier. I also added a spoonful of sour cream to the potato and bean mixture to help it stick together better, and I used a cheddar/monterey jack blend instead of the queso. Finally, I just used the red enchilada sauce you get in a can instead of making the tomatillo sauce -- I took the path of least resistance, but they still came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
YUMMY!!! I added some left over rice and a few chopped carrots and almonds for crunch, and doubled the amount of cheese (we're still adjusting to a vegetarian lifestyle...). Super good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. I used macayos green enchilada sauce, which is by far the best green enchilada sauce I have ever had, in place of the tomatillo sauce. I also layered them like lasagna, which was just easier for me. Great flavor and super cheap to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I added some salsa verde to the potato/bean mixture to combat the dryness everyone mentioned, as well as adding some jalapenos and chili sauce. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States