Potato and Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I loved this recipe! We followed it almost exactly. Even my husband, who is a big meat eater thought it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I thought this was very tasty. I used a jarred tomatillo salsa instead of making it and I also added some salsa to the potato mixture so it wouldn't be dry. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
YUM! I am a vegetarian and really have enjoyed these enchiladas. Even as leftovers they are fantastic. I did make some changes- I realized I was out of cumin while preparing these so I used taco seasoning and chili powder on the potatoes. I used canned tomatillos and dried onion flakes in the blender as the sauce and didn't like the taste so I added my favorite salsa. I messed up on filling and put all the cheese in the enchiladas and none on top. I will make this recipe again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Couillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Good flavor, but would not make again as per recipe. If I make it again, I would definitely add sauce to the potato/bean mixture because the insides were dry. And I would also change the cheese to a cheddar/jack combo or mexican four cheese blend, or something. The queso fresco didn't have a good melting quality to it. But I liked the flavors, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this dish for a dinner party. Everyone really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I made this exactly as written and it was very bland and dry. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This truly was delicious. I made many modifications, however. I made my salsa with 4 tomatoes (the grocery store didn't have tomatillos this week - hey, it's Canada!), 1 medium onion, 1 jalapeno pepper and 1/2 an avocado (delish!). Drain ALL the water before blending, otherwise it'll turn out too runny. I also added more cumin and chili pepper to the potatoes (I'm a big fan of cumin). Instead of adding the potato mixture to an oiled pan, I mixed the oil directly with the potatoes. I couldn't find corn tortillas, so I used the flour variety instead. I had many compliments! But wathc out for the jalapeno pepper. Instead of blending directly into the tomato mixture, blend it on its own and add slowly until obtaining the spice level you desire. Muy bien!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Awesome enchiladas. We really loved these and want to try making them sometime and add some shredded chicken. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
i'm a vegetarian, but i'm also lactose-intolerant (lots of interesting things happen to you after you have a baby, consider yourself warned ;) ), so i made these without the queso. i know, however, that it would have made a big difference with it added, to balance the other flavors and add some creaminess. next time i might add some dairy-free sour cream, for texture if not for flavor. even without queso, these were really good. i had to cook the potatoes longer than 25 mins, but didn't dare cook the enchiladas longer than the 20 suggested. i'd add in some garlic with the potatoes next time, and probably a jalepeno or two. overall a good recipe, one i'm sure i'll make again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made these for the vegan crowd at a dinner I catered, and they seemed to really enjoy them. (left out the cheese this time) I was not impressed with the tomatillo sauce while I was making these - it seemed rather sour. Of course, I put way too much of it in the food processor at once and ended up with a tomatillo-covered kitchen. Yuck! I also was trying to be more healthy and did not fry my tortillas - big mistake. I think it was just the brand of tortillas I bought, because I have had success not frying tortillas before. But with these I ended up with all broken enchiladas. :( But they just end up being chopped up when you eat them anyway, and the vegans really did enjoy them. I think I might give them a shot at home one of these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States