Potato and Bacon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Everyone really liked this! I was a little scared because I've never made potato salad before, but I will definitely make this again. I didn't have any celery (boo!) and I also used spicy brown mustard because that's what I had in the fridge. I noticed that some reviewers thought it was rather dry, so I added an additional one cup of sour cream -- next time I will reduce this because I didn't need all of it. I garnished with paprika (my son is convinced this makes a difference). I made enough for 30 servings and it was almost all gone. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made a double batch for our annual 4th of July party. It was very, very tasty. I omitted the parsley because I didn't have any on hand, and used lite Miracle Whip for the mayo. Will make this in the future instead of my mama's recipe (sorry Mom!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was my choice for the 4th of July picnic, and EVERYONE loved it! I omitted the slices of egg on top and just put all the egg in the salad, and I doubled the recipe and the bacon. I was lucky and picked the right recipe of all the potatoe salads. This one really was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
all i can say is awesome!! thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was the first time I had ever made home-made potato salad. It was good, but not great. I'm not sure what it was lacking, but it definitely needed more flavor. I'll try again, and throw in a few more spices. I'm sure it can be a five-star salad by the end of summer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Didn't have parsley or celery, but made anyway. It was a hit at a family bbq. Delicious flavor. Only had 1 tablespoon of dijon, so I used 1 tbls of regular mustard. Everyone liked it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri from Vista CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Sooo yummy and perfect as written. It was so much easier than boiling, cooling, peeling then cutting potatoes. Which is why I never make potato salad. It definitely had a baked potato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
HUGE HIT WITH THE FAMILY!!! Made this for a family cookout and everyone asked for the recipe. I made no changes it is perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
was very good, but i'm going to try using the "base" recipe; leave out the bacon (it is what got soggy and made the salad seem old quicker) add some chopped sweet baby gerkins and just a small bit of minced fresh red onion........ ill let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
First time making potato salad and it turned out great. My wife , who doesn't normaly eat potato salad, loved it. I added a little yellow mustard, green onions and paprika. Goes great with summer B B Q, will surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States