Potato and Bacon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this salad, omitted celery, used only 4 eggs, and used 1\2 cup lowfat sour cream and a 1\2 cup mayo instead of a whole cup of mayo. I also added 1\3 cup chopped red onion and 1\2 cup shredded cheddar cheese. It came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Very good recipe. Added red onions, exchanged the celery for chopped baby dill and exchanged the parsley for fresh cilantro... outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I've taken this salad twice now to our family parties and on the second go, my daughter greeted me at the door of her home with, "did you bring the potato salad mom???". I think she was happier to see it then me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This recipe was awesome!! Everyone loved it and I will definetly make again. Next time I will add a little more bacon. The bacon flavor really made the salad!! You did wonderful with this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I cut this in half, used the full amount of bacon, two eggs and low-fat mayo. I did add a little fresh ground pepper, too. At my oldest boy's request, I did add one very large garlic dill pickle. This is potato salad at it's very simplest and really, sometimes simple is where it's at. Next time, I might add a little chopped red or green onions. EDITED: I will add that I left my eggs and celery chunky, just because that's the way we like our potato salad. I just tossed the ingredients in the bowl and folded in the combined mayo and dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Loved this recipe, the entire family thought it was a hit. I made it for a large family bbq and unfortunately I could not have seconds because it was gone when I went back :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is my favorite potato salad recipe. The bacon and celery add texture and flavor. I do add some paprika and season salt to give it a little more flavor. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I never made potato salad before and was told it was the BEST they had ever had! This shows how simple it really is for a novice like me. Sub. green onion for celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
LOVED IT! I used Yukon Gold potatoes and pre-cooked bacon (to save a little time) and it was fabulous. Everyone at our 4th of July BBQ went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Everyone really liked this! I was a little scared because I've never made potato salad before, but I will definitely make this again. I didn't have any celery (boo!) and I also used spicy brown mustard because that's what I had in the fridge. I noticed that some reviewers thought it was rather dry, so I added an additional one cup of sour cream -- next time I will reduce this because I didn't need all of it. I garnished with paprika (my son is convinced this makes a difference). I made enough for 30 servings and it was almost all gone. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States