Potato Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These were really good.I topped mine with cheese cuz I like cheese with my potato pancakes and had meatballs on the side. The only thing I will do different next time is add some baking powder to get them a little fluffier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
OMG. I've tried many potato pancakes recipes but never thought about putting them in a waffle iron. I don't care how much you modify them, this cooking technique is the key to this recipe. Absolutely perfect and crispy. And without using oil to fry, they almost seemed healthy. Thank you SuperWifey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRAENEVETS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Really yummy!!! A nice change from plain potato cakes!!! Kids and husband loved them. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These are delicious smothered with sausage gravy. I also made them Gluten Free by using the Bisquick GF mix instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made these last night with leftover mashed potatoes, they were amazing! I usually dont like potato pancakes because of the gooey texture and oil but this way they are crispy and delicious. I made per the recipe but added shredded cheddar to the mix. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Very good, nice change from potato pancakes. We topped the waffles with sour cream & served with applesauce & pork sausage patties. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
These are great for breakfast with some eggs and bacon. I use left over mash potatoes from the night before. My family hate leftovers so they did not even know. It nice to see recipes that give leftovers a new life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Dear Wifey- I nearly flew to my waffle iron to try your recipe and the flavor did not disappoint. I did tweak the recipe (as I always do potato pancakes) by adding 1 tsp of onion powder and 1/2 tsp white pepper and omitting the garlic (and I use Russet potatoes)... The problem I can see happening to others (as it did to me), is that everybody's recipe for mashed potatoes is going to vary in texture and moisture... so my first two waffles turned out so tender I could hardly get them out of the iron. By the third waffle, I had added probably double the flour, used 1/2 cup of batter, and cooked it over 7 minutes. I have a great waffle iron (been using it for 30 years) so I know to have it thoroughly preheated and normally can cook any waffle recipe in exactly 5 minutes. I will definitely try the recipe again with either less potato or more flour because I love your idea... good use of leftover potato, reduced use of oil, fun to serve, and good flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I love this recipe. It's simply easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time today and it was a hit!! I also served it with eggs and bacon. My wife suggested to serve it as a loaded baked potatoe w a little butter, sour cream and bacon on top. We will see and I'll post again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States