Potato Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Worked just as written. Started with pretty dry mashed potato. I then tweaked a bit to see if I could get them a little thinner and crispier. Added another egg and a bit of milk since my original batter was more like choc chip cookie dough consistency. The first batch cooked in 41/2 min. The wetter better took longer but the family loved both versions. I am going to use them for the "bread" in a breakfast sandwich. Husband wanted more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is so much better than frying in all the grease. Crunchy outside, creamy inside...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used this recipe and added bacon mild cheddar cheese and Parmesan. I also added 1 teaspoon of baking powder. I fried the onion in the bacon fat and had to use 1 teaspoon of garlic powder as I was out of fresh. It tasted great! Into the recipe book it goes. Thank you Superwifey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoelV.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
It's not very often that a recipe from Allrecipies fails for me but this one did. All went well until it went into the waffle iron. We make waffles at least once a week so it's not as if our iron doesn't work but after 10 minutes with the potato mixture in the waffle iron, it was still a gooey mess, no closer to being cooked than it was when it went in. I would make sure that if yo attempt this, that you have a super hot waffle iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
These were pretty good. They needed to cook longer than the 5 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
The flavor is nice, but the "waffles" were mushy, stuck to my waffle iron like crazy, and took forever to cook. Not crispy at all. I'm thinking maybe my mashed potatoes had too much milk in them? Sorry- I loved the idea, just not the result. I gave the recipe 3 stars rather than 2 because my ultra-picky 13-year old really liked them, mushy and all. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
These are great! Very easy and so tasty! I served them with applesauce right on them. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Great taste and very easy to make! I doubled the recipe and used a belgian waffle iron. I got 6 waffles out of the double recipe so adjust according to your type of waffle maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I skipped the regular onions. I added green onion (right into the mix), garlic powder, celery salt and regular salt. I used 1/4 cup of Bisquick instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldengirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
These waffles are amazing! And it is easy to add your own touches. I like them with chives mixed into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States