Potato (Velveeta®) Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Starsha
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I love making this recipe! I serve with garlic cheese bread. For some reason the recipe was not printed correctly... I boil the water and seasonings, then add the potatoes and allow to boil a few minutes before I add the processed cheese. Otherwise the cheese tends to burn and stick to the bottom of the pan. Cook on low once the cheese is added. I also wanted to note that the recipe says to use one block of cheese... If you purchase the regular sized block of Velveeta, then you actually only use 1/2 the block (1 lb) of cheese. They do have smaller 1 lb blocks of cheese you can buy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very tasty and easy-to-make comfort food. I used a 20 ounce bag of "Simply Potatoes Southwest Style Hash Browns" as the shredded potatoes because I had some on hand that I needed to use. And since the soup now had a "southwestern" flavor going, I eliminated the Cajun seasoning and instead just added a few shakes of Tabasco sauce and left everything else the same as the recipe called for. This was a hit with my family, even my picky teenager, who told me that the next time she has a sore throat, she wants me to make this comforting soup for her--if not several times before then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pflugerville, Texas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I really liked this. I was surprised that it was as substantial as it was, since it was made with water rather than milk. It is a very good base for additions to it, which adds interest. Plus, it's far lower in calories than other recipes I found, and it's so easy to make! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was super easy, super quick, super GOOD! I have a few variations though. Do NOT add any additional salt, the bouillon cubes, and Velveeta cheese add more than enough! In fact, the next time I make it, I will use 3 cubes instead of 4. I bought 2% Milk Velveeta cheese. It's 1/3 less fat, and adds a milk creaminess I like. If you add this kind Velveeta, do NOT let your soup boil. It will curdle. If your soup isn't thick enough, like mine wasn't, add flour/water mixture, and sour cream. Gave a great addl. flavor. I also used the hash brown shredded potatoes. perfect, so much less work! You can add so many things to this soup, I'm thinking broccoli would be a good addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was really tasty, I loved the flavor, I halved the recipe and made enough for about 4 people, I think next time I may just cube the potatoes for more texture....I loved this , something different without a lot of effort....Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tam Tam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central City, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made as written and I found it bland. I added after garlic powder, hot sauce, carrots, celery, corn, chicken and some other spices. Thickend it up with some cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Not great. Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mohio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
very good! Family loved it. Even my 3 year old who will not eat potatoes ate a bowl full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
My family did not like this at all. My favorite food is cheese but this was just way too cheesy for us and I only used 3/4 of a block of velveeta. The one thing we liked about it was the Cajun seasoning, which made it edible enough to choke down. But 2 of us ended up with stomach aches from the cheese and we each only had half a bowl. I made this with a half a turkey sandwich for each person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I cook GMO-free

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Quick easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States