Potato (Velveeta®) Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Did not care for this at all. Maybe it was just the cajun seasoning (which I would have thought I would like), but my husband and I both did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Not great. Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mohio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Yum, yum, yum! I used cubed red potatos for a little thickness and it was wonderful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very yummy! I skipped the Cajun seasoning, and added a couple herbs like oregano. I cubed the potatoes instead of shreding them, then ran the cooked soup through the blender. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Yummmmmy! I love this soup! It's quick and easy, and provided enough soup for 3 meals for me and my husband. I didn't see cajun seasoning at the store, so I used creole seasoning and it turned out delicious! This recipe is definately replacing my old recipe for potato cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Very easy to prepare for a week night supper. I cut back on the cajun seasoning to one teaspoon only because my husband doesn't like spicy food and I used onion powder instead of onion because my children don't like onion. My younger shild, the picky eater, couldn't stop talking about how good it was and she ate two helpings. I will make this again and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very tasty and easy-to-make comfort food. I used a 20 ounce bag of "Simply Potatoes Southwest Style Hash Browns" as the shredded potatoes because I had some on hand that I needed to use. And since the soup now had a "southwestern" flavor going, I eliminated the Cajun seasoning and instead just added a few shakes of Tabasco sauce and left everything else the same as the recipe called for. This was a hit with my family, even my picky teenager, who told me that the next time she has a sore throat, she wants me to make this comforting soup for her--if not several times before then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pflugerville, Texas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was really tasty, I loved the flavor, I halved the recipe and made enough for about 4 people, I think next time I may just cube the potatoes for more texture....I loved this , something different without a lot of effort....Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tam Tam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central City, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Starsha
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I love making this recipe! I serve with garlic cheese bread. For some reason the recipe was not printed correctly... I boil the water and seasonings, then add the potatoes and allow to boil a few minutes before I add the processed cheese. Otherwise the cheese tends to burn and stick to the bottom of the pan. Cook on low once the cheese is added. I also wanted to note that the recipe says to use one block of cheese... If you purchase the regular sized block of Velveeta, then you actually only use 1/2 the block (1 lb) of cheese. They do have smaller 1 lb blocks of cheese you can buy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States