Potato Squash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
These were very tasty and a great way to use extra squash and potatoes. To kick the flavor up a notch I used seasoned salt and I shredded a little cheddar cheese into the batter. I also used just a touch of olive oil in the pan, enough to coat. This makes a lot even when I scaled the recipe down. Tastes great reheated in microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I don't really care for summer squash, but hubby does and family gave us some, so... This was great. A little on the greasy side from the frying, but very tasty. I will definitely try just spraying the pan with oil next time. the only other complaint was that the 'batter' was very, very wet and I really didn't want to keep adding flour. Came out fine, but was surprised by all the juice. Messy to make, good to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
We followed the directions, but these turned out pretty bland (we had to add extra salt, pepper, garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I found this recipe because I was trying to make potato corn cakes, and this was the closest I could find. This gave me some good ideas and a good base to start with. Instead of the squash I used corn, and instead of the garlic salt I used real garlic, which I think gave it more flavor. I really liked the outcome, and the dish was really good. I think this recipe is really versatile, and could handle other spices depending on what you are serving it with, and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I used frozen hash browns from the grocery store because that's what was on hand. Instead of flour I used pancake mix-- tasted great. Very easy and good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Couldn't find squash so I used canned corn. Used olive oil to try to save on calories but remembered (during cooking) that it had a low smoke level (whoops!). Everything else left the same in the recipe. Very wet in getting from bowl to skillet. Nevertheless, GREAT side for my meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I've never had potato pancakes before so I don't know if it is the recipe or potato pancakes in general. It wasn't bad, just not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Yummers! After shreading the potatoes and squash I rang out the excess water (wrapped up in a paper towel) to cut down on the liquid. Used egg beaters and 3 oz. shreaded low fat cheese. These came out wonderful. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Very Tasty! I used zucchini instead of yellow squash and used fresh garlic. I salted and drained the shredded potatos and squash to release some liquid. If you need a bit more flavor add any seasoning that you like. I added some dried italian herbs and some fresh sage. The amount of oil in the recipe seems a bit excessive. I just coated the pan with a bit of olive oil and it was fine (remember no extra virgin because of the smoke point :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I used green onions as the onions, and whole wheat flour in place of the baking mix. Instead of frying in oil, I just put the cakes on a vegetable sprayed griddle. I can taste the summer squash in these hash browns! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States