Potato Squash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
We really enjoyed these :) I found I had to add quite a bit more flour than called for, but the outcome is delicious nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
very easy and very tasty! a great way to use up mashed potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These were really good. I did switch the amounts around for potato and squash so they were squash potato cakes instead. It's what I had on hand. The batter was very wet and didn't want to add alot of flour so just went with it. May try using Pam next time to cut down on fat. I'm just not crazy about frying things in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsymonds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Ive been trying to find something to do with this squash my mother-law keeps giving me but I dont have alot of money to go spend on ingredients for these fancy meals. My husband how hates squash loved these. Good, quick, easy and simple ingredients. 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These were good but really bland. The 2nd time I made them, I added 1/3 cup parmesean cheese, 1 jalapeno pepper chopped small and1/3 cup chopped bell pepper. For the salt and pepper I used cajun seasoning. They had a much better flavor with these adjustments :)!!! Thanks for a really good idea!***squash season again and I tried using frozen seasoned hash browns. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I used green onions as the onions, and whole wheat flour in place of the baking mix. Instead of frying in oil, I just put the cakes on a vegetable sprayed griddle. I can taste the summer squash in these hash browns! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Very Tasty! I used zucchini instead of yellow squash and used fresh garlic. I salted and drained the shredded potatos and squash to release some liquid. If you need a bit more flavor add any seasoning that you like. I added some dried italian herbs and some fresh sage. The amount of oil in the recipe seems a bit excessive. I just coated the pan with a bit of olive oil and it was fine (remember no extra virgin because of the smoke point :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Yummers! After shreading the potatoes and squash I rang out the excess water (wrapped up in a paper towel) to cut down on the liquid. Used egg beaters and 3 oz. shreaded low fat cheese. These came out wonderful. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I've never had potato pancakes before so I don't know if it is the recipe or potato pancakes in general. It wasn't bad, just not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Couldn't find squash so I used canned corn. Used olive oil to try to save on calories but remembered (during cooking) that it had a low smoke level (whoops!). Everything else left the same in the recipe. Very wet in getting from bowl to skillet. Nevertheless, GREAT side for my meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States