Potato Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This was absolutely delicious! I used fresh, chopped spinach & added some garlic. Didn't have green onions so I used regular chopped onlion. I also added a little half & half to potatoes while mashing. I combined everything ahead of time, refridgerated, then put in casserole dish & baked during the last half of my stuffed chicken/spinach recipe. Great combination & just as good leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
These were good. I read all of the reviews and made mashed potatoes my own way (margarine, 2% milk, lots of garlic, reduced fat sour cream etc etc all to taste) and then just added the green onions and thawed spinach. The thing about making mashed potatoes as per someone else's recipe is that potatoe sizes vary so much that you really need to do it all to taste and not w/ standard measurements. That is just my 2 cents though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
My husband and I are both spinach lovers, so we both loved this recipe! The leftovers were gone the next day. I found that when warming up the leftovers, "frying" it in a pan and adding some butter and salt made it absolutely delicious. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
My husband has proclaimed this one of his all time favorites. Making this last night, aside from adding a little garlic,I followed the recipe, just added extra of some things. I doubled the spinach, added extra onions, and completely covered the top in a thick layer of chedder cheese.Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Loving Potatoes and Spinach I thought this would be great. I was disappointed how bland it was. I will make it again, but double the spinach and fry it first with the green onions and some minced garlic and onions. Then add it to the mashed potatoes and reduce the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is a nice, creamy side dish, and a great way to get kids to eat spinach - my crew all had doubles. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream to cut calories. A dash of garlic powder would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I made this exactly as written and it was not only a colorful and attractive way to serve mashed potatoes but it was also very tasty! I added some crumbled bacon to the cheese topping and that went over really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This was divine. I did make just a few little changes. I used green onion instead of chives, used fresh spinach that I steamed in the microwave, and added some non-dairy cream cheese to round out the flavour. My husband loved this, telling me that I was lucky he did not eat it all. He also wants me to try it as a filling for perogies. Will definitely make this again and again. I might also try another type of cheese other than cheddar, siwss might be nice, or havarti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This recipe is excellent! I added some extra sour cream and a little milk since it seemed a little on the dry side when I was mixing it all up. I served this with a meatloaf and everyone absolutely LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Very bland as is. I tried this a second time and added minced jalapenos ~ it was just "okay".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States