Potato Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very good recipe- quick and to the point. I modified in the following ways. While the potatoes were boiling, I sauteed onion and garlic in olive oil for about 5 minutes. I then added diced tomatoes with some jalapenos and cooked those for about 2 minutes. I added the spinach last, stirred and covered the pot for about 10 minutes. I masked the potatoes then added the cooked spinach combo. I mixed in one cup of plain low fat yogurt. Added a few dashes of cayenne pepper and spicy salsa. Add as much as you like, if you like spicy food as I do. Then poured into into baking dish, baked as directed. I used vegan cheese to replace the Cheddar cheese. Very yummy and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great! My husband didn't know he was eating spinach til I told him! haha... It was so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was a bit bland. I used canned asparagus, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
So I have to tell you that my husband & I are not big spinach eating people. But in order to get healtier foods in our diet we tried this recipe. It was SO GOOD!!! We absolutly loved it! I put more spanich in than the recipe called for just so I didn't have any left over in the bag; and it was still GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbcevans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I thought it was ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eydie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
My husband said these are the best potatoes I ever made. I made the mashed as I normally would and doubled the green onion. I also cooked it the entire time with the cheese on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is a great recipes. My husband enjoyed eating it and he don't like spinach! I will be cooking this again but with less potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellma47

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My husband and son loved this. What a great way to get in some extra spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Super easy to do, and this was inhaled at the dinner table. I made the mashed potatoes my own way, low fat, using chicken broth and a cup of low fat sour cream, then followed this recipe. It's a nice way to make mashed potatoes a little more interesting, and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I was initially looking for a recipe with hash browns because it was for a brunch, so I used shredded potatoes instead of mashed. I also added a little minced onion, light mayo, and used fresh spinach. I used more cheese and mixed it in with the potato, then topped with a little more at the end and cooked at 350 for 40 minutes, broiled on low for about 5 minutes to add a little crisp. Everyone loved it - the flavors were great! I think I will top it with real bacon bits during the broiling next time. I will definitely try it with mashed potatoes as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States