Potato Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Great side dish. I didn't have green onions so I used about a tablespoon of fresh chives and a tablespoon of fresh parsley. I added a little onion powder to the mixture and a little fat free half and half to the potatoes during mashing. I agree with the other person who mentioned how pretty this dish is. A nice alternative to regular old casseroles. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Great! I scaled the recipe to make 4 servings. In place of the fresh potatoes, I made 6 servings of instant mashed potatoes. Everything else I followed the recipe. This makes a very pretty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
My brother is a "particular" eater, and he LOVES this dish, whenever I'm around he requests it. I love it because it is tasty, filling, nutritious, inexpensive and quick to make. I have changed it a little though, I add a thawed pie shell on top and sprinkle it with some paprika and a little more cheese, doing this I find gives the dish more flavour and is more satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
I made this for dinner tonight and we found it very tasty. Since there are just the 2 of us now, I had to cut it down quite a bit. I used fresh spinach, which I chopped and blanched for 2 minutes in the microwave and I used fat free sour cream. The only thing I did wrong, I think, is that I used a bit too much sour cream and it was a bit more 'soupy' than I would have liked.(I didn't measure, my fault).I will make this again and use less. No matter--it was very good and a new way to serve spinach. PS. I asked my husband to rate it and he said that if I cut back on the sour cream it will be a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Wow! Fantastic recipe and very easy to make ahead. But you're stronger than I am if you can leave this in your fridge without sampling. I used fat free sour cream and substituted 1/4 cup fresh chives for the onions. Thanks for a great recipe Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
My husband and I are both spinach lovers, so we both loved this recipe! The leftovers were gone the next day. I found that when warming up the leftovers, "frying" it in a pan and adding some butter and salt made it absolutely delicious. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
very, very tasty! i used several cups of fresh chopped spinach instead of frozen, and did add a little extra milk so the potatos didn't dry. it was simple to make, and the perfect side dish to baked chicken fingers. thanks for the idea, lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This recipe is excellent! I added some extra sour cream and a little milk since it seemed a little on the dry side when I was mixing it all up. I served this with a meatloaf and everyone absolutely LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-118 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States