Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
The first time I made this for my family, my grandmother told me that I could "make potato soup" for her anytime. Coming from a 40-year experienced (and might I add excellent) cook, that is really saying something! :-) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a great starter recipe. I put a little garlic in with the onions, then add diced raw potato, leaving some chunks larger than others. Then put the potato in the sauce pan with the onion, salt and pepper them and let it fry a little so the potatoes get a nice flavor going. Then I add chicken broth and bring to a boil til the potatoes soften.Lastly the milk or cream whichever I have on hand. I always add bacon crumbles and garnish with shredded cheddar and a glop of sour cream. The only reason I don't give this recipe 5 stars is I think it needs another seasoning but I haven't quite figured out what yet. My picky husband asks me to make this all the time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Yummy way to use up mashed potatoes. I added sour cream, chives and cheddar cheese sprinkles on top. Mmmm- comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
In its purest form, this soup is really bland, but I give it 4/5 because it is SO easy to make adjustments and add in your favorite ingredients to make amazing soup! Even though I "halved" the recipe, the only ingredient I really measured out was the butter; I eyeballed the rest of the ingredients until I got the very thick texture that I like with my soups. I melted the butter, than added the onions as prescribed, but I also added a bit of minced garlic from a jar. When everything was yellow and tender, I threw in some chopped carrots and a bit of chopped celery, then I added roughly 3 cups of leftover mashed potatoes, stirred everything around for a minute, then added less than 1/4 cup of milk. I barely used half a jar of chicken broth, but then again, I like my soups really thick! I added salt and pepper, as well as a tablespoon or so of Old Bay and the smallest dashes of basil and chili powder. When I tasted it, I was like, "Holy , this is surprisingly awesome!" So I added some leftover cooked corn I had in the fridge and a hearty helping of cheddar cheese as I turned the heat down on my stove. The end result was at least 4 servings of really delicious, hearty soup! Again, you may have to make adjustments to this recipe so it isn't "bland," but the base is a great start, and I plan on using this every time I have leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This was a great recipe and very simple. I actually used Potato Buds to make the mashed potatoes since I was short on time, and it came out fine. Will definitely keep handy and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was so good, we added a pound of bacon and omited the butter to fry the onions and just fried them in the bacon grease before discarding the grease. My husband decided this was the best soup he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is a great Recipe I made it for my family the only thing i did diffrent was instead of plain chicken broth I drained a can of Campbells Chicken noodle soup and used it it was amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
very good base soup. It had a really good flavor just kinda bland for me. I added butter onions and minced garlic in a pan and then put potatoes in. i didnt use mashed. when they got soft i mashed them in the same pan. I also added Italian seasoning,sour cream, bacon, and mild cheddar cheese. YUMMMMYYY!!! best ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I made the soup as is, except I did add some baked potato cubes as well. This is a good basic potato soup recipe. Nothing super spectacular - but, not unpleasant either. I would make it again, because it is tasty and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States