Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is a really good, easy soup. I did add some ham that I needed to use up, but it did have to have it. It's a great way to use up left over mashed potatoes and I definitely would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
More like bland runny mashed potaroes. Needs a bunch of dressing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I agree with another reviewer...this is a wonderful base recipe to begin with. Everyone has their own taste preferences and tweaking recipes is common to most of us. Will definitely make this recipe again because it was quick and easy. I had boxes of scalloped potatoes in the cupboard that needed to be used or thrown out. I threw out the seasoning, but used the dried potato slices by breaking them up into small pieces, then adding water to reconstitute. Used instant mashed potatoes to fill in the rest. If it was this good with these old ingredients to start with, I can only imagine what fresh ingredients will do for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westphalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Everyone liked this soup except for my daughter (picky eater) but other than that it was good and very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for my daughter, while she was recovering from having her wisdom teeth pulled. It is so yummy we all wanted to eat it. I carmelized my onions and then deglazed my pot with the broth and milk and then added the potatoes. Really really good!! and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Love this basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is a yummy soup. I was told next time by my husband to make more. My kids were upset that there was no seconds that night. I used cubed potatoes and boiled them in the broth was the only change i made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
very good base soup. It had a really good flavor just kinda bland for me. I added butter onions and minced garlic in a pan and then put potatoes in. i didnt use mashed. when they got soft i mashed them in the same pan. I also added Italian seasoning,sour cream, bacon, and mild cheddar cheese. YUMMMMYYY!!! best ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This soup was delicious, I did all some celery, garlic and chopped ham for added flavor which made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States