Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a great "base" for Potato Soup! I added a tsp. of minced garlic to the onion and since I didn't have mashed potatoes I added cubed Red Potatoes that I already had boiled for 8 minutes, I added them to the onion & garlic mixture with a half cup of chicken broth and let them cook for 10 minutes. This allowed me to mash some of the potatoes in the pot which made my soup thicker. I used the amounts listed for the broth and milk and my soup wasn't runny/thin it was perfect consistancy. I also added 2/3 cup of chopped cooked ham, 1 tsp. of sea salt, 1/2 tsp of Basil, 1/2 tsp of Pepper and 1 tsp of Parsley. I topped each bowl with a spoonful of Kraft 2% shredded Mexican cheese blend - turned out to be a really good soup! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was a super easy recipe with only a few steps and ingredients, but tastie, all the same. It was a bit too oniony, but I didn't use chicken bouillon or milk because I didnt have any :-)). I imagine they would have balanced the flavor. I may add a bit of my homemade rice milk to calm the onion flavor, but I don't eat chicken, so I'm not sure what to do about that. I will remember this basic recipe and use it again, but I'll probably add less onion. Also, I blended it in the VitaMix to make it super creamy and hide the chunks of onions from my kids. :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
An excellent tasty soup. I added chopped celery, carrots and green onion (the only onion I had on hand). I used 1/2 cup of ff cream as well as skim milk and the chicken stock. I love the recipe; it's a great way to use up left over potatoes. yum! EW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! We usually make lots of mashed potatoes so that we can make this the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Such a great idea! I had left my skins on my mashed potatoes and I like mine a little chunky so it gave the soup nice texture. Thanks for the idea and yummy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this is a great base recipe. i added 1 sauteed onion and cooked italian sausage. plus grated garlic in the potatoes. wow. unbelievable. so good. cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queen brie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was great. I did add some garlic salt, because I did think it was a bit bland. Also as suggested I topped with cheese and bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poetrywriter828

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
An excellent way to use up the leftover potatoes.... sticks to the ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
added a cup of grated carrots, quarter cup of cream instead of milk, and added seasonings depending what I feel like. If you feel like a really rich soup you could add ham bits but for me this soup was rich enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
great soup, it did need a little extra. I added a little garlic with the onions, dill, and celery seed. Thanks so much for sharing. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States