Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was a super easy recipe with only a few steps and ingredients, but tastie, all the same. It was a bit too oniony, but I didn't use chicken bouillon or milk because I didnt have any :-)). I imagine they would have balanced the flavor. I may add a bit of my homemade rice milk to calm the onion flavor, but I don't eat chicken, so I'm not sure what to do about that. I will remember this basic recipe and use it again, but I'll probably add less onion. Also, I blended it in the VitaMix to make it super creamy and hide the chunks of onions from my kids. :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
An excellent tasty soup. I added chopped celery, carrots and green onion (the only onion I had on hand). I used 1/2 cup of ff cream as well as skim milk and the chicken stock. I love the recipe; it's a great way to use up left over potatoes. yum! EW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! We usually make lots of mashed potatoes so that we can make this the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Such a great idea! I had left my skins on my mashed potatoes and I like mine a little chunky so it gave the soup nice texture. Thanks for the idea and yummy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this is a great base recipe. i added 1 sauteed onion and cooked italian sausage. plus grated garlic in the potatoes. wow. unbelievable. so good. cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queen brie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was great. I did add some garlic salt, because I did think it was a bit bland. Also as suggested I topped with cheese and bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poetrywriter828

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
An excellent way to use up the leftover potatoes.... sticks to the ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
added a cup of grated carrots, quarter cup of cream instead of milk, and added seasonings depending what I feel like. If you feel like a really rich soup you could add ham bits but for me this soup was rich enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
great soup, it did need a little extra. I added a little garlic with the onions, dill, and celery seed. Thanks so much for sharing. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is a really good, easy soup. I did add some ham that I needed to use up, but it did have to have it. It's a great way to use up left over mashed potatoes and I definitely would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States