Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Simple and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Exactly what it says it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Very, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I good basic recipe. A little heavy on the onions for me, next time I think I will chop them finer or simple have the amount I used. The back bone of it is the mashed potatoes. You HAVE to have good mashed potatoes or it wont work well. I think I'll try bacon and bacon grease in it next time, or maybe ham or. this seems like a great recipe to put in little extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My husband is going through detox and he needs things soft and easy on his stomach. He loved it. He said the taste was great and it really helped with settling his stomach. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Climax, Georgia, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Will make this again, I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHES28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Made this soup with bacon, broccoli and not as much onions and it turned out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I am so happy to have found this recipe. When I make potato skins, I can make this recipe with the leftover potato. Like previous reviewers said, this is a great base recipe. I made it for the first time last night. The flavor was nice. I wanted a smooth texture so I put the soup in the blender, then put it back in the pot. I liked it as is, but I will definitely experiment to see how I can jazz up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a great "base" for Potato Soup! I added a tsp. of minced garlic to the onion and since I didn't have mashed potatoes I added cubed Red Potatoes that I already had boiled for 8 minutes, I added them to the onion & garlic mixture with a half cup of chicken broth and let them cook for 10 minutes. This allowed me to mash some of the potatoes in the pot which made my soup thicker. I used the amounts listed for the broth and milk and my soup wasn't runny/thin it was perfect consistancy. I also added 2/3 cup of chopped cooked ham, 1 tsp. of sea salt, 1/2 tsp of Basil, 1/2 tsp of Pepper and 1 tsp of Parsley. I topped each bowl with a spoonful of Kraft 2% shredded Mexican cheese blend - turned out to be a really good soup! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was a super easy recipe with only a few steps and ingredients, but tastie, all the same. It was a bit too oniony, but I didn't use chicken bouillon or milk because I didnt have any :-)). I imagine they would have balanced the flavor. I may add a bit of my homemade rice milk to calm the onion flavor, but I don't eat chicken, so I'm not sure what to do about that. I will remember this basic recipe and use it again, but I'll probably add less onion. Also, I blended it in the VitaMix to make it super creamy and hide the chunks of onions from my kids. :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States