Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
We changed this a little but used this as a good base. Had about 3.5 C of mashed potatoes left over which went in later. Chopped 2 whole baking potatoes (small like diced). Sauteed onion in 2 Tbls butter, added garlic after onion softened, then added chopped potatoes. Let brown/soften in the butter for a few minutes then added about 2 C chicken broth. Let simmer for about 10 minutes then added the mashed potatoes and probably a cup of skim milk. Just added a little broth as needed for texture. Cheese on top with Bacos and whole grain bread - Yum! This was a good find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
i always made homemade potatoe soups,but this time i chopped up fine celery and grated carrots for color ,onions farlic,it turned out awesome ,as i usully only put the potoes to boil and onion,milk boil it all then add milk,and use smasher and mash in pot try and lve some potates not really mashed then mix water and milk and pour into the soup to thhicken .but doing it this way more flavor with celery,and carrotsand whatever what tp put in it so saving your easy potatoe soup thanks alot ;your truely kim anderson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I needed something fast with what was in the fridge before vacation! I fried my onion in bacon drippings, made chicken broth from bouillon, added the leftover mashed potatoes, & the last 1/2 cup of half-n-half. Heated it up & add the last of the cheddar cheese in the bag(3/4cup). Done in 10 minutes & used up lots of leftovers. Soup gone in one meal for 4 people :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Chrapowicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holmesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very easy and tasty! I added shredded cheese and bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made this as is except cubed potatoes instead of mashed and I added sauteed mushrooms. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I make my own soup stock, and needed a basic recipe using leftover mashed potatoes. Adding diced potatoes and chicken and cream instead of milk makes a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Griffiths

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great base, but I gave it four stars because I made a few changes. 1. Instead of mashed potatoes, I just cut up 5 - 6 potatoes in chunks. 2. I added some diced garlic (canned). 3. I added 5 or 6 slices of cooked beef bacon, diced small. 1. I added a few more seasoning. However, the base was really what I needed. I cooked this in a slow cooker on high for 3 hours. Then I took a potato masher and went over it a couple times (leaving most of the potatoes in chunks, but mashing a lot to give it a textured consistency). I then cooked it on low for another 2 hours. The results were amazing and I will definitely be making this recipe a lot this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a great base soup. I added ham with the onions, then drained the excess water, added the potato's to the pot and stired. What really made this dish for my family was, the crushed funions, chives, shredded colby jack cheese and sour cream topping. Optional bacon bits as well. It was a nice hit durint the cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Tried it as written and turned out great. I made my mashed potatoes as I normally do (leaving the skins on, the same seasonings and a bit lumpy) and the consistency came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAANN30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
My family loved this soup. I made it exactly as the reciepe said. Quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States