Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Tristan Lemme
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Just made this. SUPER starter recipe. I added some basil, dill, and chives from our herb garden. Plus, just a tiny dash of cumin and simmered it with a bay leaf. Also added a healthy amount of minced garlic to cook a long with the onion. I love basic recipes that let me play!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Lemme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It was great, and a super quick recipe to make. I added bacon as well. The only thing I would change is not adding as much onion, but that is just to my preference. Instead of a whole onion, add only 3/4 of the onion or even half. I also recommend not using 6 cups of potatoes, I only used about 4 and a half. I also only added 1/4 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DancersBeLike 1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I needed to use up some frozen mashed potatoes that went watery when thawed and this was a great way to use them up. I did use 1/4 cup of butter and 2%milk with sour cream. Adding a couple diced carrots and a very small pinch of cumin. Would use this basic for a base for sure and add my own twist to it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Boil potatoes in veg stock,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Good base but had to "doctor it up" quite a bit. Using other reviews I added Old Bay, dill, basil, chili powder, and some cooking sherry along with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Try adding chorizo sausage to the mix. Adds a delicious spice with excellent taste amongst various additives such as celery and carrots for a bit of sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I thought it was ok, it needed some help...i added garlic with the onions... less chicken broth, more milk to make a creamier texture , salt & pepper to taste & a dash of oregano made it taste pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
very easy (or simple).first time I made it I had can cream of celery soup that I opened by mistake the day before, I put it in while mashing potatoes. I made a mistake that really worked great. now I add the celery soup every time I make. The whole family asks for it on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very basic potato soup. Too bland. But if you add chopped green onions right before you serve it tastes a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I altered this a recipe a little bit! Instead of using mashed potatoes, I used diced cooked potatoes. I also cooked the soup in the croc pot on high for 3 to 4 hours. For flavor I added dried basil, crushed red pepper, and a little garlic. If are you are going to used diced potatoes, after you cook the potato for a little bit, make sure you dice them into small pieces. That is one that I would change about what I did. Besides that, this homemade soup is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States