Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This soup is very, very bland initially as other reviewers mentioned. I wish that there were more large potato chunks. I added three cloves of garlic, a bunch of black pepper and paprika, a little cayenne, parsley, and some parmesan cheese. This is a fun recipe if you like playing around with ingredients. My family loved it. Makes a great appetizer or lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I loved this simple recipe. Reading the comments always gives me ideas. I started w the onions and the butter....added a couple of chicken bouillon cubes and quartered small red potatoes(what I had on hand)..squished a garlic clove and dropped that in..some salt and pepper...zapped some bacon....added that ....and just let it simmer...mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Considering this soup starts with mashed potatoes, I think it's great for what it is. While I don't think anyone would confuse this for restaurant-style baked potato soup, it works beautifully in a pinch. First snow of the winter and my two oldest kids (8 & 7) wanted potato soup...this recipe fit the bill! I used veggie broth since I'm a vegetarian, and eyeballed the broth/milk amounts. I added freshly ground pepper and a ton of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Next time I will dice the onions instead of chop, but that's only for my kids' sake. I could see how bacon, sour cream, green onions, etc., would be great additions. Personally, I think one of the best aspects of this recipe is its flexibility. You can adapt it to your personal tastes or those of your family. A definite keeper! Will make this again for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was an excellent recipe. I added two strips of bacon cut up into small chunks and fried, 1 garlic clove minced fried with the onions, and 1/8 tsp parsley. My husband isn't a big soup person and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Bland. And no way can this serve 7
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I added shredded grilled chicken breast, and used garlic Dalton place of regular salt and it tastes amazing. I will definitely use this recipe a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Simple and delicious. I love recipes I can memorize:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Spry
Photo by Tristan Lemme
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Just made this. SUPER starter recipe. I added some basil, dill, and chives from our herb garden. Plus, just a tiny dash of cumin and simmered it with a bay leaf. Also added a healthy amount of minced garlic to cook a long with the onion. I love basic recipes that let me play!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Lemme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It was great, and a super quick recipe to make. I added bacon as well. The only thing I would change is not adding as much onion, but that is just to my preference. Instead of a whole onion, add only 3/4 of the onion or even half. I also recommend not using 6 cups of potatoes, I only used about 4 and a half. I also only added 1/4 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DancersBeLike 1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I needed to use up some frozen mashed potatoes that went watery when thawed and this was a great way to use them up. I did use 1/4 cup of butter and 2%milk with sour cream. Adding a couple diced carrots and a very small pinch of cumin. Would use this basic for a base for sure and add my own twist to it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States