Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Perfect for a snowy winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Very good recipe - I have never used carrots or onions and that is a nice addition. This was much healthier than my normal recipe. I did add some chopped ham to my recipe and used chopped potatoes instead of mashed potatoes. I like my potato soup chunky - it seems more filling. Thanks for the recipe, we are snowed in and needed a recipe with my on hand ingredients and also a way to use up my potatoes before they go bad. Thanks from Kentucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Strong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Even though it was 80 degrees today, I made this soup pretty much as written and found it YUMMY! I probably used more onions than recipe but was a little nervous at the others' mention of 'bland'. I didn't put sour cream, bacon, cheese or any other additives so I could rate fairly and I LIKED it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This soup is very, very bland initially as other reviewers mentioned. I wish that there were more large potato chunks. I added three cloves of garlic, a bunch of black pepper and paprika, a little cayenne, parsley, and some parmesan cheese. This is a fun recipe if you like playing around with ingredients. My family loved it. Makes a great appetizer or lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I loved this simple recipe. Reading the comments always gives me ideas. I started w the onions and the butter....added a couple of chicken bouillon cubes and quartered small red potatoes(what I had on hand)..squished a garlic clove and dropped that in..some salt and pepper...zapped some bacon....added that ....and just let it simmer...mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Considering this soup starts with mashed potatoes, I think it's great for what it is. While I don't think anyone would confuse this for restaurant-style baked potato soup, it works beautifully in a pinch. First snow of the winter and my two oldest kids (8 & 7) wanted potato soup...this recipe fit the bill! I used veggie broth since I'm a vegetarian, and eyeballed the broth/milk amounts. I added freshly ground pepper and a ton of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Next time I will dice the onions instead of chop, but that's only for my kids' sake. I could see how bacon, sour cream, green onions, etc., would be great additions. Personally, I think one of the best aspects of this recipe is its flexibility. You can adapt it to your personal tastes or those of your family. A definite keeper! Will make this again for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was an excellent recipe. I added two strips of bacon cut up into small chunks and fried, 1 garlic clove minced fried with the onions, and 1/8 tsp parsley. My husband isn't a big soup person and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Bland. And no way can this serve 7
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I added shredded grilled chicken breast, and used garlic Dalton place of regular salt and it tastes amazing. I will definitely use this recipe a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Simple and delicious. I love recipes I can memorize:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Spry

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States