Potato Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Very good! I'm a wimp and don't like spicy food so I let my husband put the hot sauce in his own bowl and we both loved it. It was so quick and easy to make, with ingredients I already had. Thank you Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Great!! I did add a little garlic and chili powder. Other than that, it was sooo good on a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe was awesome! Although I did substitute the celery for tomatos , and I added a cup of chicken broth. Also next time I make this I will use less hot sauce. This was a little too much. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I'm always looking for something new and different to try for dinner and I came across this recipe by chance and decided to make it... I have little ones so I did have to modify it a bit. I substituted the onions with carrots, halved the ground pepper and used garlic salt for the other half, added some fresh herbs, had the hot pepper on the side, and grated a little sharp cheddar on the top before serving. So I guess you could say that I made potato soup with a thump and not a kick, but it was still wonderful! Even my two year old who's going through the mac 'n' cheese with hot dogs phase loved it, so thanks Ann for sharing the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
My daughter and her friend made this one day because they were bored. Well, I am glad they did because I have made this soup over and over again. I changed the tomatoes to diced and added a 14 1/2 oz can of sauce. Everyone LOVES this recipe especially on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
My husband loved this! I added a little more hot sauce, but other than that, this was great!! Definately worth making again since he is a meat & potatoes kinda guy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This soup is delicious! I doubled the recipe because we are a soup-eatin' family. I used one pound ground venison and one pound ground wild hog instead of beef. I also added two TBSP of minced garlic while browning the meat. I used two cans (14.5oz) of chicken broth, one can of beef broth, once can of diced tomatos and one 60z can of tomato paste. No water. I doubled all spices and it turned out fantastic. I took the time to mash a majority of the potatos to get a thicker consistency. We emptied the pot in ONE DAY! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I have made this recipe many times. Except, I leave out the tomatoes and add another can of tomato sauce. It always turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I actually would give this 4 1/2 stars if I could. This was surprisingly tasty and very easy to make. I made some minor changes, namely sauteeing a finely chopped celery stalk and 2 cloves of garlic along with the onion, and using less hot sauce. My picky husband eyed this with great suspicion but then helped himself to seconds. Great with some fresh bread on a cold winter night and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States