Potato Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I'm going to rate this even though I probably changed it enough to qualify for another soup:) It was a nice base recipe though and I followed the technique so... the only changes I made were to use a quart of beef broth instead of water, and I added chopped kale. I think the kale really made it for me, adding some additional nutrition color and texture. Without it, I'm not I would have liked this so much. I also added about 1 tsp. of dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Great basic recipe, but it needs a little additional seasoning. I added some garlic and onion powders as well as a little beef bouillon. Next time I'll add more veggies. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamamommy
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
We loved it. I'll probably put a few less potatoes in next time, but it will definitely be made again in our house! My husband said it reminded him of his grandmother's "pigs in a blanket" (a.k.a. Polish stuffed cabbage)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
We took over reviewers suggestions and increased the hot sauce because we like spicy foods. Unfortunately all we tasted was the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Really liked this soup, but made some additions. Added sliced carrots and some diced green pepper. Also added little orzo about 12 minutes before I wanted it to be ready. I used leftover pizza sauce, diced tomatoes, and water for the base. Served with a handful of shredded cheddar on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I really enjoyed this. It has ingredients that I usually have on hand so it's super easy to throw together on those crazy day. Loved the spicy kick. I gave it 4 stars because my husband wasn't as crazy about it as I was, but he still thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikieSue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This recipe is very unique and healthy , i recomend it for anybody thats a soup freak! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saja .R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This soup was GREAT! Easy to make and very yummy. I followed the recipe except adding a little extra hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Great stew/soup! It's really more like a thick vegetable beef soup than a potato soup, but the taste is fantastic! I prepared it just as stated and mashed the potatoes a bit in the saucepan towards the end. The longer it cooks, the thicker it gets. Our house smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is good soup. It does have a little bit of a kick, but if you're used to spicy foods then you're probably going to want to add more hot sauce so you can really feel the heat. I like that fact that this recipe uses common ingredients that are in nearly everyone's pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Daycare Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States