Potato Soup with Fish and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
The title of this stew doesn't sound good but this soup is TASTY! I used 3 yukon gold potatoes and it was thick enough. Perfect for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was a great recipe! I used haddock instead of cod, and added some spices (black and red pepper) as well as some cloves of fresh garlic. It turned out great--"creamy, smooth, melts-in-your-mouth" says my husband. I accidentally added a bit too much butter and this was a "mistake" worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Very thick and delicious soup! I cut the recipe in half, added garlic, shredded carrot, and red pepper flakes for more flavour, and used dover sole fish and shredded mozzarella, asiago, and cheddar cheeses. I altered the recipe according to what I had (and preferred, like garlic), but I think I'll make it as is sometime in the near future. Still, it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This soup is creamy, delicious and filling. I followed the recipe exactly, although next time I might use a splash of white wine. This would also be great with langostinos and white wine and scallions. Will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Soup was great - added cayenne and coarse ground black pepper as well as 3 different kinds of cheese - looking forward to making it again with spicy sausage - great potato soup - very warm, smooth and comforting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
on a snowy night we added salmon and basa fish. 1% milk and red pepper flakes with a tiny bit of chili powder. delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This soup was delicious, easy and filling. I used part skim milk and part fat free half & half. I also used black pepper and red pepper as seasoning. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMMOELLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Fantastic! I added some fresh garlic and a few other seasonings (I recommend just seasoning it with whatever you like, as I don't think that just paprika would be enough) and added some frozen broccoli and cauliflower when the potatoes were almost done. I also used Flounder fillets instead of Cod and Colby Jack and Parmesan cheese instead of Muenster... My mother was recently put on a diet by her doctor for her cholesterol, so I used all low fat ingredients (I can't believe it's not butter, 1% milk and low-fat/no-fat cheese) and it was still fantastic. A great way to get her to eat the fish that the doctor told her to eat! This recipe makes enough for several meals and still tastes great warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Great for a cold day! I bought huge package of fish from Costco and was tired of the same old thing so thought I'd try this out. I substituted with TILAPIA, SMOKED PAPRIKA, EXTRA SHARP CHEDDAR and tripled the recipe. Will definitely be making again. Could only have been better with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miller Place, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe for a filling, cold weather soup. I made a few changes the second time I made this out of necessity. I exchanged the half and half for 2% milk, and the muenster cheese for gouda because it is all I had on hand. Less fat and still creamy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States