Potato Soup with Fish and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I didn't have muenster cheese so I used mozzarella and cheddar. I found that they did not melt easily, so next time I would use the cheese as a topping before serving. I used tilapia. Otherwise, this was delicious and made a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina Shan
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this soup for a book club meeting. (It was a survivalist novel, so the main character ate a lot of fish and potatoes.) I wasn't too sure about the soup based on the name, but I trusted the reviews and it turned out great! Everyone enjoyed it. I switched out a few things based on what I had in the house (flounder instead of cod and half cheddar/ half muenster instead of all muenster). I garnished with paprika, diced avocado, and cheddar cheese (see photo). I’ll make this again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This only gets three stars because although the final dish was a big hit I added a ton of seasonings (potatoes soak up alot of salt and other flavors) and to make this tasty. This is a good basic recipe that can change a lot depending on seasoning and the type of cheese you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was excellent! The only changes I made were to use smoked paprika instead of the standard variety, six potatoes instead of ten and whole milk instead of half and half. Everyone raved about this soup. I will be adding this to my normal repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I loved it will have it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Fantastic! I added some fresh garlic and a few other seasonings (I recommend just seasoning it with whatever you like, as I don't think that just paprika would be enough) and added some frozen broccoli and cauliflower when the potatoes were almost done. I also used Flounder fillets instead of Cod and Colby Jack and Parmesan cheese instead of Muenster... My mother was recently put on a diet by her doctor for her cholesterol, so I used all low fat ingredients (I can't believe it's not butter, 1% milk and low-fat/no-fat cheese) and it was still fantastic. A great way to get her to eat the fish that the doctor told her to eat! This recipe makes enough for several meals and still tastes great warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Great for a cold day! I bought huge package of fish from Costco and was tired of the same old thing so thought I'd try this out. I substituted with TILAPIA, SMOKED PAPRIKA, EXTRA SHARP CHEDDAR and tripled the recipe. Will definitely be making again. Could only have been better with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miller Place, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe for a filling, cold weather soup. I made a few changes the second time I made this out of necessity. I exchanged the half and half for 2% milk, and the muenster cheese for gouda because it is all I had on hand. Less fat and still creamy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Very thick and delicious soup! I cut the recipe in half, added garlic, shredded carrot, and red pepper flakes for more flavour, and used dover sole fish and shredded mozzarella, asiago, and cheddar cheeses. I altered the recipe according to what I had (and preferred, like garlic), but I think I'll make it as is sometime in the near future. Still, it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Wow, this soup is fantastic!!! I used sweet potatoes as it's what I had to hand. I also added red pepper flake, coriander, a tiny drizzle of honey, a dollop of organic broth paste, and a can of whole kernel corn. I was worried that the eggs might cook when I added them to the soup, but they were fine. I will make this alot, even in summer! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States