Potato Soup XI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
The vinegar made me wonder, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Absolutely DELICIOUS!! I wanted a soup recipe which didn't use a store bought soup and I found this recipe. I followed the recipe as stated except I was out of milk. I subbed a 12 oz can (1 1/2 cup) evaporated milk in its place. To keep my flour from getting lumpy I used a small container and shook the flour and 1/2 cup of the milk together until dissolved. Added the milk to the mixture, then the flour/milk to the pan. Make sure you stir the mixture frequently so it does not burn in the bottom of the pan. The evaporated milk really gave the soup body and additional flavor!! It thickened up a little more than I like so I added an *additional* 1/2 cup of broth. I topped with diced ham instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This soup was EXCELLENT!!! I would call it GERMAN POTATO SOUP instead of potato soup XI. I didn't have any celery so I omitted it but next time will try it with to enhance the already delicious flavor. The secret ingredient is the vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
this soup is GREAT! the vinegar is an interesting and very important addition - don't leave it out! i like to mash the potatoes a bit right before serving to thicken it up even more...also, i add some cajun seasoning, garlic powder and pepper. very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanelle#5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This was pretty tasty! It made two generous bowls of soup. There was no taste of vinegar in the final product. I had a little bit of leftovers, and they tasted pretty good the next day! Thanks for the yummy recipe! Fiancé says it's a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
YUM!!! My husband and I love potato soup and this recipe is probably the best that I've tried. The carrots, onion, and celery really enhance the flavor. The addition of the vinegar seemed a little strange, but I think it is an essential part of why this soup tastes so good! I did add a bit more seasoning--some ground pepper and garlic powder. Like one of the other reviewers, I also used a potato masher to mash up some of the potatoes for an even creamier soup. In addition to serving the soup with the cheese and bacon, I also sprinkled some chopped green onion on top. A deliciously hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Great recipe, I used a can of evaporated milk in place of the milk... I also added 1/8 tsp of cajun seasoning and 1/8 tsp garlic powder as suggested by the other reviewer, great addition! It turned out very tasty, we will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I changed the serving size a while ago and it said to add 7 1/2 cups Monterey Jack Cheese - WELL WORTH IT! The only thing I did different was to add more celery, onion, and carrot, and added chives to the topping. Serve with Asiago Cheese Bread. This soup is OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This is a great alternative to the really heavy cream-based potato soups. It was really good and light. I didn't have any milk, so instead of the milk and flour, I used plain nonfat yogurt, which worked really well. I also mashed the potatoes just a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very good and easy. The vinegar seemed like an odd addition but you could not taste it. I also added more carrot and celery and cut it into cubes. I added some shreadded colbyjack to the final few min. of cooking to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States