Potato Soup VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
i really liked this recipe but i had to and salt and pepper.it was a little bland but really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is the first soup I've made and it was fantastic! I did alter it a little though, after reading some of the reviews. Instead of water I used chicken broth and did about 1 1/2 cups. I also scratched the celery and used broccoli and took out the powdered milk, and used red potatoes. At the end after I added the flour/milk mixture I also added a handful of grated sharp cheddar cheese and a little garlic. I do have the gritty taste others were mentioning, but I think that is due to the potatoes sitting for so long...as a potato lover, I can't complain though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This soup smelled REALLY yummy while it was cooking, but I just couldn't get past the powdered milk taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very good and easy!! The only thing I did differently was add a little pepper and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillianhour
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I loved this soup. It was a big hit in my house. I did not have the carrots so I omitted them by default. This was my first soup so I don't know what they should taste like but I loved it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillianhour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This soup was very bland. I added a few tried and true spices(garlic, basil..etc)and it still didn't make this worth the effort. I ended up adding some cheese to make it palatable and couldn't even make myself take leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was my first attempt at potato soup and I'm glad I used this recipe! It was so easy. I did not have the dry milk but it turned out perfect anyway. Next time I will try switching the water for chicken broth. I did add some seasoning for added flavor also. This was a wonderful recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is good. I wanted a thicker soup because I was serving it in bread bowls so after cooking the potatoes and vegetables, I partially blended it in the food processor. We felt like the soup was missing a little something but I didn't add the chicken bullion so that might be what it was. I also left out the dry milk powder because we didn't have any. Next time I would like to try using chicken broth instead of water to boil the vegetables. We enjoyed this recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
The other reviews made this sound so great. Maybe I put too much potatoes or something cuz mine turned out very very very bland. So I added salt and pepper and a whole package of crisped bacon and some shredded cheese... Still pretty bland. Not too happy. My hub wont try it cuz I mentioned it wasnt turning out like I had hoped, and I hate to waste food so I guess I'll have to try to stomach it all myself over the next couple days. Ugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
The first time around, I almost threw it away when I added the milk because I thought I screwed it up royally, but all I had to do was wait a few more minutes and keep stirring. Make sure you keep stirring and give it time. This soup is great because it's creamy and thick while still being low-fat. I tend to add a good amount of black pepper and garlic powder, and it makes a big difference. Just a touch of cheese on the top, and it's a filling meal that everyone enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States