Potato Soup IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This is a very good soup on a fall/winter day. Instead of using a blender, I just used my "old fashioned" potato masher right in the pot. It was easy to regulate how many chunked potatoes you want left in the soup. I topped mine with cheese, bacon and scallions. If the soup seems too thin, just add a little bit of instant mashed potatoes to thicken. A keeper recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
WOW!!!! This was so UNBELIEVABLY good!!!!!!!!!! A HUGE hit with my entire family, who normally does not even comment on what they are served. Rave reviews from my husband and kids! Will definitely make again. Omitted the parsley (didn't have any) and used chicken boullion with water in place of the stock. It was quite exceptional!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
This soup was wonderful -- I substituted 1 c. cream for 1 c. of the milk, and also added wild rice and buillion that had boiled separately for 40 minutes or so. When I blended 1/2 of the soup, this blended wild rice added some nice color, as well. Very yummy, very simple. I will try this as a base for clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
This was an easy soup to make from what I already had on hand. I used fat free milk, as that's all we keep around. My picky family (husband, 6 and 4-year olds) LOVED it. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very comforting on a winter day. Everyone enjoyed it. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Delicious, I love this soup so much I made it one day after winter exams and Oh My God, that was so comforting!!!!! Soooooo tasty and warm, i almost ate the whole batch myself, but unfortunately, my dad wanted some. Anyways thanks, it's so good and one of the lowest in fat i've had. Tops to you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josee RC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Excellent potato soup base. I added about 3 oz of cream cheese. I also topped with bacon, cheese, and the fresh parsley. Everyone gulped it up and asked for seconds. I had a bunch left over the next day for lunch as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Great soup! I used vegetarian boullion since we have an herbivore in the house, but cooked up some bacon for the meat-eaters to sprinkle in. I started by just mashing the potatoes as several other reviewers did, but the soup seemed really thin when I was done. So almost all of it went in to the blender, which thickened it up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My husband and I enjoyed this very much and will be making it regularly in the winter. I made a few changes, though. I didn't use a food processor for the potatoes; just mashed them some with a fork. We liked the consistency better. Also I didn't have fresh garlic, so I used garlic powder. Used Swanson low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup! I used dried unions, and fat-free milk, and topped it with an aged cheddar and a chopped tomato-- delicious! I'll certainly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States