Potato Soup IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Love my Doxie
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. I also added some onion powder, garlic salt (in place of any other salt) and some seasoned salt and a couple dashes of cayenne. I added a couple strips of chopped up bacon for the meat eater in the family and topped it with grated cheddar cheese, green onions and parsley. I also thickened it with some mashed potato flakes. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Superb soup....my wife is a veggie (I'm not)so to find a recipe as easy as this and as tastey is a pure bonus.Well done to the author.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by absolutelybecky
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
perfect, easy, cheap and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by absolutelybecky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Big hit for the whole family. Will be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My husband and I enjoyed this very much and will be making it regularly in the winter. I made a few changes, though. I didn't use a food processor for the potatoes; just mashed them some with a fork. We liked the consistency better. Also I didn't have fresh garlic, so I used garlic powder. Used Swanson low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This turned out a really wonderful tasting low calorie soup! We sprinkled grated american cheese and chives insead of parsley over... this is a great low cal recipe. I used 2% milk, the results were wonderful. I didn't even miss the bacon or sour cream. Served with a loaf of hot crusty french bread...Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Even though my husband gave it a four, I'm giving it a five, because I liked the addition of thyme, and I thought the flavors of chicken broth, potatoes, & herbs went very well together. I added a sweet potato and really liked the added depth and density. I also added 1/4 teaspoon fresh rosemary and about a teaspoon of onion powder. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Great comfort food and perfect for the cold, wet weather we've been having. I cooked a few strips of bacon to add to the soup and used the drippings to sauté the onion in. Overall, and easy and delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I have made this soup several times and it is always a hit for my wife and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I didn't make any changes to the recipe except for the parsley.. I didn't have any on hand. The soup was good but it's not quite what I was looking for. Good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States