Potato Soup IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Love my Doxie
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. I also added some onion powder, garlic salt (in place of any other salt) and some seasoned salt and a couple dashes of cayenne. I added a couple strips of chopped up bacon for the meat eater in the family and topped it with grated cheddar cheese, green onions and parsley. I also thickened it with some mashed potato flakes. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Superb soup....my wife is a veggie (I'm not)so to find a recipe as easy as this and as tastey is a pure bonus.Well done to the author.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by absolutelybecky
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
perfect, easy, cheap and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by absolutelybecky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Big hit for the whole family. Will be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My husband and I enjoyed this very much and will be making it regularly in the winter. I made a few changes, though. I didn't use a food processor for the potatoes; just mashed them some with a fork. We liked the consistency better. Also I didn't have fresh garlic, so I used garlic powder. Used Swanson low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This turned out a really wonderful tasting low calorie soup! We sprinkled grated american cheese and chives insead of parsley over... this is a great low cal recipe. I used 2% milk, the results were wonderful. I didn't even miss the bacon or sour cream. Served with a loaf of hot crusty french bread...Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Even though my husband gave it a four, I'm giving it a five, because I liked the addition of thyme, and I thought the flavors of chicken broth, potatoes, & herbs went very well together. I added a sweet potato and really liked the added depth and density. I also added 1/4 teaspoon fresh rosemary and about a teaspoon of onion powder. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Great comfort food and perfect for the cold, wet weather we've been having. I cooked a few strips of bacon to add to the soup and used the drippings to sauté the onion in. Overall, and easy and delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I have made this soup several times and it is always a hit for my wife and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I didn't make any changes to the recipe except for the parsley.. I didn't have any on hand. The soup was good but it's not quite what I was looking for. Good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States