Potato Soup IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup! I used dried unions, and fat-free milk, and topped it with an aged cheddar and a chopped tomato-- delicious! I'll certainly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Great soup! I used vegetarian boullion since we have an herbivore in the house, but cooked up some bacon for the meat-eaters to sprinkle in. I started by just mashing the potatoes as several other reviewers did, but the soup seemed really thin when I was done. So almost all of it went in to the blender, which thickened it up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is the best potato soup recipe! I only made one small change; I added one chopped shallot to the onion & garlic. The soup was so rich and flavorful, and it had the perfect consistency. I'm already looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Great and easy recipe. Added in a dash of cayenne, used red potatoes, and garnished with some fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intellichick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very good as is but for our tastes I added 3 ounces of Cream Cheese with chives which made a thick texture so no mashing or blending was needed~ a couple chicken boullen cubes and a few spinkles of cayenne and a packet of precooked bacon bits! Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very good, better if you add some vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Thyme is one of my favorite herb seasonings - so I used both dried and fresh in this soup and wasn't disappointed. I added carrot for additional color and found that using a potato masher gave me the texture that I liked.. I followed the suggestion of the recipe poster and served with shredded cheese. So good on a cool, rainy evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was a really good soup. The only thing I didn't like was that it didn't have much flavor - that was my fault. My chicken stock was not very salty, because I don't add bouillon or other salts to it - I didn't salt the soup much, but it would certainly have benefitted from some sour cream, chives or other such flavoring that doesn't add a ton of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was the best potato soup I have ever had. It was creamy and rich with only milk. I LOVED it we added bacon and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States