Potato Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Great recipe. I added 1 1/2 cup steamed and pureed cauliflower halfway through simmering potatoes, otherwise followed directions as given. The soup turned out great, I will use this recipe again and know I will find new ways to add to it yet retain this very satisfying and flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was a very easy, very satisfying recipe. I added personal touches.... 2 cups veggie broth, 2 cups chicken, cause thats what i had on hand. Added bacon pieces, garlic, celery flakes, extra pepper, and season all type. Used a little less milk and cheese than called for. Mashed the potatos some. Very good on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
GOOD SOUP!!!!! SOUPERB! I followed the directions with some minor changes: I used turkey broth instead of chicken broth. When the potatoes were tender, I used a potato masher and slighty mashed some of the potatoes the make the soup thicken, and omitted the cornstarch. I added leftover turkey pieces, and various herbs and spices like paprika, basil, garlic, salt, and pepper. I don't like cheese in my soup and I thought 2 cups of cheese was a little much anyways, so instead I just sprinkled some cheese on the top when I dished the soup up in individual bowls. It was a great change from my usual "leftover turkey from thanksgiving soup", and a delicious way to use up leftover potatoes and turkey! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is my daughter's favorite meal of all time. My only modifications are to use colby-jack cheese instead of cheddar, because that's what we usually have on hand, and to add about three tbsp of crumbled bacon when I add the potatoes, so the flavor cooks in. I do use Kitchen Basics gluten-free broth, since we are gluten-intolerant and this way I can be sure it's safe. But this is hands-down the best recipe I have found for potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
WOW!!! With a little doctoring this soup is out of this world. By far the best soup I've ever eaten. I added 1 Tbsp of extra finely chopped garlic, an extra cup of potato, doubled the onion and pepper, and added 1/4 cup thinly sliced carrot. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Great recipe...Didn't take long to make and tasted great. I made it on a cool fall day and it hit the spot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
What a terrific recipe! I was searching for one that did not use potato flakes or cream soups to thicken, and this one was just right. I made very minor variations, like adding a little parsley and extra salt for flavor, and adding some grated carrots. I also used Yukon Gold instead of red potatoes and skipped the cheese, since I made it to accompany a main course. Yum...even the children enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIARE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I would suggest making this a day ahead of time. It tastes better after all the flavors have set in. I added dill and skipped the cheese. When I serve it, I sprinkle cheese and some bacon bits on top. Great recipe that can be made many different ways!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was wonderful. I have family that can not have wheat or gluten and I can make this with butter and keep it gluten free. I added ham and carrots for a change. Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States