Potato Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
WOW!!! With a little doctoring this soup is out of this world. By far the best soup I've ever eaten. I added 1 Tbsp of extra finely chopped garlic, an extra cup of potato, doubled the onion and pepper, and added 1/4 cup thinly sliced carrot. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I would suggest making this a day ahead of time. It tastes better after all the flavors have set in. I added dill and skipped the cheese. When I serve it, I sprinkle cheese and some bacon bits on top. Great recipe that can be made many different ways!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
What a terrific recipe! I was searching for one that did not use potato flakes or cream soups to thicken, and this one was just right. I made very minor variations, like adding a little parsley and extra salt for flavor, and adding some grated carrots. I also used Yukon Gold instead of red potatoes and skipped the cheese, since I made it to accompany a main course. Yum...even the children enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIARE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
GOOD SOUP!!!!! SOUPERB! I followed the directions with some minor changes: I used turkey broth instead of chicken broth. When the potatoes were tender, I used a potato masher and slighty mashed some of the potatoes the make the soup thicken, and omitted the cornstarch. I added leftover turkey pieces, and various herbs and spices like paprika, basil, garlic, salt, and pepper. I don't like cheese in my soup and I thought 2 cups of cheese was a little much anyways, so instead I just sprinkled some cheese on the top when I dished the soup up in individual bowls. It was a great change from my usual "leftover turkey from thanksgiving soup", and a delicious way to use up leftover potatoes and turkey! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I am rating this recipe based solely on the content--I made it exactly as written. It is an excellent base recipe, but a little bland without some additions. I did garnish with real bacon bits before serving. Next time, I will add some more seasoning components: bacon in the soup, green onion, and maybe some garlic. A really good start to what could be a 5 star knockout recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is my daughter's favorite meal of all time. My only modifications are to use colby-jack cheese instead of cheddar, because that's what we usually have on hand, and to add about three tbsp of crumbled bacon when I add the potatoes, so the flavor cooks in. I do use Kitchen Basics gluten-free broth, since we are gluten-intolerant and this way I can be sure it's safe. But this is hands-down the best recipe I have found for potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This was a real easy recipe. I mashed the potatoes up some once they were cooked and instead of using salt and pepper, I used a hickory smoke/pork chop season mix for a little flavor. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was wonderful. I have family that can not have wheat or gluten and I can make this with butter and keep it gluten free. I added ham and carrots for a change. Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Great recipe...Didn't take long to make and tasted great. I made it on a cool fall day and it hit the spot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Great recipe. I added 1 1/2 cup steamed and pureed cauliflower halfway through simmering potatoes, otherwise followed directions as given. The soup turned out great, I will use this recipe again and know I will find new ways to add to it yet retain this very satisfying and flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States