Potato Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Very good base soup. I added cabbage, rosemary, and smoke flavoring. Instead of adding cheese while cooking, I garnished with it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was wonderful. I have family that can not have wheat or gluten and I can make this with butter and keep it gluten free. I added ham and carrots for a change. Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I would suggest making this a day ahead of time. It tastes better after all the flavors have set in. I added dill and skipped the cheese. When I serve it, I sprinkle cheese and some bacon bits on top. Great recipe that can be made many different ways!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
What a terrific recipe! I was searching for one that did not use potato flakes or cream soups to thicken, and this one was just right. I made very minor variations, like adding a little parsley and extra salt for flavor, and adding some grated carrots. I also used Yukon Gold instead of red potatoes and skipped the cheese, since I made it to accompany a main course. Yum...even the children enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIARE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Great recipe...Didn't take long to make and tasted great. I made it on a cool fall day and it hit the spot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
WOW!!! With a little doctoring this soup is out of this world. By far the best soup I've ever eaten. I added 1 Tbsp of extra finely chopped garlic, an extra cup of potato, doubled the onion and pepper, and added 1/4 cup thinly sliced carrot. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is my daughter's favorite meal of all time. My only modifications are to use colby-jack cheese instead of cheddar, because that's what we usually have on hand, and to add about three tbsp of crumbled bacon when I add the potatoes, so the flavor cooks in. I do use Kitchen Basics gluten-free broth, since we are gluten-intolerant and this way I can be sure it's safe. But this is hands-down the best recipe I have found for potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
GOOD SOUP!!!!! SOUPERB! I followed the directions with some minor changes: I used turkey broth instead of chicken broth. When the potatoes were tender, I used a potato masher and slighty mashed some of the potatoes the make the soup thicken, and omitted the cornstarch. I added leftover turkey pieces, and various herbs and spices like paprika, basil, garlic, salt, and pepper. I don't like cheese in my soup and I thought 2 cups of cheese was a little much anyways, so instead I just sprinkled some cheese on the top when I dished the soup up in individual bowls. It was a great change from my usual "leftover turkey from thanksgiving soup", and a delicious way to use up leftover potatoes and turkey! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
this is a great, basic potato soup recipe. next time, i think i'll make it with leeks instead of regular onions, or maybe even shallots. i like making it with red potatoes and leaving the skins on as well. what i DID do this time around is drop about 1T of cajun seasoning in it to give it a kick and the next day, upon re-heating it for my lunch, it was soooo wonderful. thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilsdancefloor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States